Loriville Gazette
2004 Mar 21 a blow-by-blow account of my [unexciting] weekend

I had a full agenda this weekend but wasn't able to do any of it because I've been feeling like dirt.

I felt fine yesterday morning. Having a very tight schedule, I was up at the crack of dawn (8 am) so that I could eat my breakfast, do the dishes, and pack my overnight bag so that I could head straight to Sacramento from the bridal shower in Vallejo. The only thing I had time for before leaving was breakfast (a bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crunch) and doing half the dishes.

My acupuncture appointment was at 10. I was complimented by the acupuncturist ("You look great! You look healthy and vibrant.") and had a nice relaxing 1-hour session while I stared at the wall and fantasized about how much fun life will be after Isaac arrives while he wiggled around like crazy in my belly.

After the appointment, I ran over to Rite-Aid so that I could buy a card for the bride-to-be and then rushed over to Macy's to buy her a gift certificate. I was incredibly thirsty but brushed it off. After all, I'd have a fancy lunch and a drink once I got to the bridal shower. After running into Macy's, I hopped in my car and sped off toward Vallejo.

Let me clarify: I tried to speed off toward Vallejo. I hit a wall of traffic like you wouldn't believe. I was going to be very late to the shower, which made me tense and edgy. Near Richmond, my fuel light came on. I pulled over to get gas.

I got back on the freeway. I noticed the time: 1 pm. The shower started at 12:30 and, being that traffic was acting the way it was, figured it would be after 1:30 by the time I arrived there. I didn't have the hostess's phone number so I couldn't call and let her know that I was running late.

Less than 2 miles later, I got very light-headed and dizzy. My blood sugar was dropping. I needed food immediately.

I pulled off at the only thing food stand available at the next exit: a Burger King. I despise Burger King... but beggars can't be choosers, you know? I went inside and ordered the most disgusting meal I'd had in a long time. Afterward, the only thing I wanted to do was go home and lay down. I felt very drowsy and wondered how I'd make it home.

I debated with myself over what I should do about the bridal shower. If I still went, it would be almost 2 pm by the time I arrived. Was it worth the hassle, considering I wasn't feeling well? It was a beautiful day and I was looking forward to spending time with my friends. But the reality was that I didn't feel much like celebrating.

Needless to say, I eventually decided to turn around and go home. I felt like the biggest jerk in the world! I never thought to ask the hostess for her phone number because I never expected that I'd need to use it.

As soon as I walked in the door, I flopped on the couch and didn't move for 5 hours straight. M is out of town this weekend so I was really grateful there were leftovers in the refrigerator to heat up in the microwave for dinner.

I am feeling a little better today. That hasn't meant that I've done anything, though. I need to do the rest of the dishes, clean the bathtub, and wash my car... but we'll see if any of that actually gets done. I'm tired.

One thing I have done: I've gone on an internet buying tirade. I'm obsessed with cloth diapers. I cannot stop researching them, looking at them, and debating with myself about which ones I should buy. I've discovered WAHM ("Work At Home Mom") shops that sell the most adorable cloth diapers you've ever seen. Most of the WAHM sites let you custom-design the diapers.

This weekend, I've purchased:

1) One small custom-designed All-in-One Bikini Bottoms (tm) diaper in a light blue solar system print with a yellow suedecloth interior from Daisy Doodles.

2) Two x-small Angel Wrap All-in-One diapers, one in a navy blue Hawaiian print with a red suedecloth interior and one in a light blue/tan Hawaiian sailboat print with a navy blue suedecloth interior from Angel Wraps.

3) One Bearbums (tm) 15-35 lbs AIO diaper in a refreshing sherbet print from a private seller on ebay.

I also sent a WAHM seller (Little O Diaper Co.) an inquiry about whether she could make me a Cuddlebuns "Cuddle-In-One" (tm) one-size diaper in an adorable navy blue Hawaiian print. I haven't heard back from her yet.

Someone stop me! I've gone berserk!

The good news is that it's got me thinking about starting up my own SAWM company. Hey, I own a sewing machine... and I used to make and sell Cabbage Patch Kid clothes when I was in high school. I've also made things for myself before such as clothing, curtains, and pillows. So there you have it.

If nothing else, at least it's a possibility. I wouldn't get rich making cloth diapers... but I would make a decent amount. Reusable diapers sell well and retain their resell value. Plus, I'm passionate about cloth diapering from a environmental and health standpoint. I would be doing something I strongly believe in, i.e. making super cute stuff while saving the environment and improving the quality of people's lives.

The environmental benefits are clear. But did you know that most people don't understand the health benefits of cloth diapering? By cloth diapering, diaper rash is virtually non-existent. You're also not exposing your baby's bottom to chemicals such as sodium polyacrylate and dioxin 24 hours a day for approximately 2.5 years.

Sodium polyacrylate is the powdery substance in paper diapers that absorbs like crazy and turns into a gel. Many parents have observed beads of this gel on their baby's genitals. It has been linked to toxic shock syndrome, can cause allergic reactions, and is lethal to cats if inhaled. Ingesting a very small amount can cause death. This chemical was removed from tampons in the 1980s after it was linked to toxic shock syndrome.

Dioxin is a by-product of bleaching paper and is the most toxic of all cancer-linked chemicals according to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). It's a highly toxic carcinogen and endocrine disruptor. Dioxin has been shown to cause birth defects, skin and liver disease, immune system suppression, and genetic damage in lab animals.

Using paper diapers were never an option for me, even before I learned about the health hazards. I don't wear paper feminine products because of how uncomforable they are and can only imagine how uncomfortable they'd be for a baby. I switched to cotton pads a few years ago after hearing that they discouraged infection, were reusable, and a lot more comfortable. Come to think of it, I haven't had a single infection (yeast or otherwise) since switching!

I know from experience that cloth is healthier.

Well, I suppose I should go lay down and rest now. I feel a headache coming on. I guess I won't be washing my car today....

Enjoy the remainder of your weekend!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24