Loriville Gazette
2004 Mar 17 a short story about how we found our doula

Interview with Doula #2 last night went really well. So well, in fact, that we were completely undecided about who to choose! We met with 2 doulas total, both of them great in different ways. Here's the low-down on both of them:

Doula #1: DONA certified, doula instructor, newborn massage therapist, lactation counselor, very experienced (over 200 births). She has a child of her own and seems calm and nurturing. Her $950 fee includes 2 prenatal visits, full labor & birth support, 1 postpartum visit, photography services during and/or immediately after the birth, and a detailed birth story.

Doula #2: DONA and CAPPA certified, childbirth educator, and Certified Hypnobirthing Practitioner. She is less experienced than Doula #1 (approx. 25 births). She seems younger than I am, doesn't have any children, and is very energetic... even a little hyper (i.e. she talks a lot and very quickly). Her $650 fee includes 3-4 prenatal visits, full labor & birth support, and 1-2 postpartum visits.

After interviewing Doula #1 on Sunday, I was convinved that she was The One for us. I even considered canceling the interview with Doula #2. But we kept the interview... and realized we were in a tough position after the interview because we liked both of them so much! I was really torn about who to decide on. Since these two doulas were the only ones I was able to find with a May availability, I was concerned about taking too long to decide and then missing the boat on both of them.

Our gut instinct was to go with Doula #1 because of her experience... plus, we seemed to "click" a little better with her. However, Doula #2 was $300 less and included more for the money.

Well, I figured that M and I would take today to decide... but I got a call from Doula #1 this morning as soon as I arrived into work saying she had a potential client with an expected delivery date close to mine that wanted to sign a contract with her today. She checked with me first as a courtesy. I was a little rattled, but told her I'd immediately call M and either stay undecided for now (and risk losing her availability) or tell her yes.

I called M and we both realized it was unanimous: we liked her a little better because of her experience level and thought she would be more nurturing and gentle during the crazy throes of labor. So I called her back and told her we wanted to sign with her.

So, we now have a doula! I�m really relieved... and excited to be able to work with her.

Good heavens, I�m so glad that�s over! Now I can check that old item off my gigantic to-do list. Phew!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24