Loriville Gazette
2003 May 08 insanity is unsettling

Don't mind me. I'm just popping my head in for a quick update.

My head is swimming. My workload is absolutely insane. Putting out fires one after another is getting pretty tiresome. I hate how every issue under the sun is brought up during 100% final design, causing major re-design.

And I find it totally distressing when people flat-out change their minds during the 100% design phase, causing major re-design.

And I find it amusing that when I visit a project construction site, I'm the only woman among 9 men... and I'm taking charge and telling them what needs to be done.

And I find it totally bizaree that I recall my most vivid childhood memories driving to and from work meetings.

And I'm tired of scurrying off to meeting after meeting when the project clock is ticking, ticking, ticking.

And I'm totally exhausted by the stress of not knowing whether I'll meet my deadline or not.

I'm just so weary.

I think I'm going crazy, too, because my diary entries are random and weird. Just like this one.

Tomorrow is my Friday off, even though I probably shouldn't be taking it off. But dammit, I need the break. I need to get a decent night's sleep every once in a while, after all. I deserve it.

However, I hate to think what taking tomorrow off is going to do to my deadline. Will one day make or break my deadline? It might... and that thought fills me with dread.

The overtime gears kick in again full swing starting next week, believe you me.

And tomorrow I plan on composing overdue responses to the 45 emails I have sitting in my inbox. And I will start being a better friend by emailing or, if time allows, calling my dear friend who I haven't talked to in over two months and ask if we can meet up for breakfast, tea, or a drink in two weeks when I'll be in her neck of the woods.

Saturday evening brings the start of a divine Mother's Day celebration in the wine country. My sister and I are treating my mom to a weekend wine tasting getaway. Yahoo!

Tonight: X-Men 2 movie double date, with dinner at a to-be-determined restaurant beforehand.

My head throbs. Time to give it a rest.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24