Loriville Gazette
2002 Jul 25 bizarro

Honestly, I�m shocked at some of the conversations M and I have been having lately. Example: "Do you prefer the cellophane favor bags with gold filigree or the favor boxes with the decorative quilting on them?" "I think I like the favor bags better." "You know, I think I do, too. And you know what? They�re 10 cents cheaper."

If you�d have told me just one month ago that M and I would be having philisophical discussions about what to put the chocolates for our guests in, I�d have laughed! Planning a wedding is just so bizarre.

I went out last night with Kris. She updated me on her new job. The verdict: She doesn�t like it. Granted, it�s only her third week so she might warm up to it. I�m secretly hoping she�ll come back to my office, though. She already contacted her ex-boss to see if it was possible. Her ex-boss talked with personnel and, unfortunately, she can�t be hired back until after the hiring freeze has thawed. Dammit.

After dining at Gordon Biersch we went over to the Tunnel Top, a cute hole in the wall bar near Union Square. Her friend was having a going-away party there. He�s moving to Manhattan so that he can get his Masters at Columbia. I�m jealous. I�d love to move to Manhattan for one year to get a higher degree. Then again, I�d be poor all over again. Never mind.

We met a couple friends of his that are getting married almost exactly one month before me and M. It was really nice having a conversation with people who are also going through all of the trials and tribulations of planning a wedding. We shared funny stories. We gawked at the craziness of it all. We wistfully wished we�d eloped.

M and I are going to see the ballet United! at the Sydney Opera House during our honeymoon. We booked the tickets yesterday. I am so excited I can hardly stand it.

M booked our roundtrip flight from Sydney to Perth yesterday. He finally got in touch with his Perthian friend, who said it doesn�t really matter which days we�re there because he�s a freelance consultant and can work/take days off whenever he wants.

Now we have all our airfare purchased but nowhere to stay. Hmmm. We�ll have to get on that. So far, I�m leaning toward staying at the Blacket Hotel while in Sydney. Take a gander at their cityscape loft suite:

It�s such a beaut! And the price is to die for. Can you believe the cityscape loft suite only costs $170 per night?! Here in San Francisco, opulence like that would cost a minimum of $350 per night. Their suites have a split mezzanine queen bedroom, a bathroom with spa bath, CD stereo system, a dining table and living room/lounge area, a kitchenette with microwave, modem connections, and some have private balconies.

I think we should do it, if only for our first or last night in Sydney.

Since the exchange rate is so incredible, we plan on doing a lot of shopping (Christmas and otherwise).

I just took a bathroom break and there was a woman in one of the stalls talking on her cell phone! When I first walked in to the bathroom, I didn�t know what the situation was. I heard a woman say something under her breath, then a louder, "hello?" I thought she might have been sick or needed help or something so I said, "yes?" No answer. Then she continued with an actual conversation. I then realized she must be talking on a phone. Can you believe that?! She even flushed while still talking!

Cell phone abuse never ceases to shock me.

I had the best breakfast this morning. I took my plain Pavel�s yogurt and mixed some splenda and mint extract into it before adding fresh blackberries. It was my first experience with mint extract; I love it! Normally I use vanilla extract but mint is so much better.

Time to go.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24