Loriville Gazette
2002 Jun 24 sleek eyebrows and bridal nightmares

M sent me a link to this article about marriage. I honestly think it's one of the best articles I've seen written on marriage. And it just emphasizes what I've always said: marriage is what you make of it.

I got my eyebrows waxed on Saturday for the first time since I was 17. Why did I wait so long?! Seriously, my eyebrows look fabulous. I'm convinced tweezing just doesn't cut it anymore for anything except maintenance between appointments.

It didn't hurt at all; my eyes just watered a little. Then, afterward, the area itched really badly and turned bright red.

I had my first wedding-related nightmare last night. It was very disturbing! I was sitting in the "get ready" room at the reception location, waiting for my mom and sister to help me get ready. They were nowhere to be found.

They finally came in and said they were too busy greeting and entertaining the guests to help me with my hair and makeup and then asked when the chairs were supposed to be set out. I was dumbfounded and said, "Well, they should have been set out an hour ago!" I asked my sister to ask the site about it. Then both my mom and sister left.

I was left to my own devices. Then I realized the time: 7 pm! Our wedding was supposed to start at 4! What the hell was happening?! I panicked and quickly threw myself together.

The next thing I knew it was several weeks to several months later and I'm watching the wedding video for the first time. I am horrified to see that I look like a disaster! My hair is a mop and my face is shiny and I have some weird thing attached to the back of my dress. I am humiliated.

The Today Show thing didn't happen. We never heard from the t.v. people; match.com explained to us that this could happen if the Today Show changes their mind about including real-life couples (as the main focus was interviewing match.com's VP). So that's that.

It's probably a good thing because our phone started acting up last night. Even if they called us, we wouldn't have been able to answer. I was talking to my friend Sandy when the line started buzzing so badly we couldn't hear each other! I checked the line again before I went to bed and it was still horrendously loud... so loud you couldn't even hear the dial tone!

I forgot to check this morning but if it's still bad when I get home, I'll have to call the damn phone company from a cell phone. This is ridiculous.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24