Loriville Gazette
2002 Jun 25 the attack of the big red blemish

In the spirit of my life, the day I get a disgustingly huge bright red zit (thanks to my period!) on my chin is the same day the Today Show wants to interview us.

I went home before our appointment so that I could quickly change into something more casual, not knowing that my zit had become the size of Saturn. It was all over when I looked in the mirror; I became hysterical. I poked the white area with a pin and squeezed. Nothing happened. But I did succeed in bruising the area quite badly.

So then I had not just a whitehead, but a flaming red whitehead. Great.

I tried covering it with makeup not once but four times, washing off each attempt because it just made it look worse. I used ice on the inflamed area and then, finally, Visine. Nothing worked!

I called Zaugi, an image consultant, and asked for advice on the best way to cover the monstrosity. She suggested yellow concealer. I must say that although the yellow concealer worked the best, it did not adequately mask it. This thing was bad!

There was nothing more I could do.

So... there I'll be on the Today Show come August or September with a huge angry pimple on my chin. I hope it's not too noticeable. Yeah, right.

The taping itself was a little unsettling. The camera crew stopped us repeatedly mid-sentence because of various problems (failing batteries, sirens, honking traffic, etc.) and asking us to start over from the last question. Obviously, that's not very conducive to my train of thought.

Who knows what they'll keep. I just hope I don't look like a dope.

We were asked to bring several pictures; the producer chose 5 out of the stash to keep and copy (and hopefully mail back to us). Then, she asked us to send her a wedding invitation.

So that was that. I'm tired; time for bed.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24