Loriville Gazette
2002 Apr 30 name game

I've decided I'm not going to change my last name. Why should I?! I've been Lori R my entire life and have no intention of becoming someone else.

Yes, I realize a name is just a name. But it's MY name. I don't want to change it.

We no longer live in the 1600s. Last time I checked, chastity belts and dowries were very out of style. Ditto with the woman becoming the man's property after the nuptials (and, therefore, losing her previous identity).

Thankfully, M is fine with my decision. He says he could care less what I want to do with my name. Didn't I tell you he was perfect?

Him: "But you'll still be a [his last name]."

Me: "I know. And you'll be a [my last name]."

Him: "Yeah, I know."

It disturbs me when I hear of men getting bent out of shape because their future spouse doesn't want to take his last name. Hello?! We live in the 21st century, not Medieval times! Get over yourself!

They must be living in one of their past lives. There's no other explanation.

As you can see, I'm not a traditionalist.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24