Loriville Gazette
2002 Mar 14 difficulties

I've had the song "Who Do You Want To Be?" by Oingo Boingo playing in my head on constant repeat all day today. I don't know how to make it stop.

M and I are having a dilemma, of sorts, because we never get to see each other anymore. Our schedules are totally off.

He doesn't start work until 10:30; I start at 8. As a result, I need to be in bed by 11:00 if I'm going to wake up at 6:00 and he needs to be in bed by 1:00 to wake up at 8:30.

This is a 2 hour time difference just in our sleeping schedules!

Then, of course, there are the things we do in our daily lives that are conflicting with our schedules. I have ballet on Tuesday and Thursday nights and don't get home until 9:30. Tuesday and Thursday nights are the only nights that offer classes for my ability level.

It would be great if I didn't have class on Tuesdays and Thursdays because M works from home on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

On Wednesday nights, M goes bike riding at the ramp club and doesn't get home until midnight. He has to go on Wednesday night because the ramp club opens Wednesday nights only to bike riders (otherwise, it's used by skaters).

We used to have our Date Night on Monday nights, but that is no longer possible. M visits his brother in the hospital Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays after work in the south bay and doesn't get home until 8:30... at the earliest.

So now I basically go the entire week without seeing him. It's so ridiculous.

We've thought and thought and thought about how we can improve our schedule but can't think of anything. It's frustrating!

M recently told his family he wouldn't be able to visit E in the hospital on Friday nights, so at least that's now a possibility for our new Date Night.

We basically only have 1-1/2 days of the weekend to spend together because M goes riding with his friend on Saturday or Sunday mornings.

Our "quality" time together is really only on Saturday or Sunday and typically has to be spent doing dumb wedding-related stuff.

Although, I must admit, I'm looking forward to the cake tasting appointment we have this Saturday at the posh French bakery! And we get to pick up the engagement prints from the photographer.

Anyway, I try not to think about the lack of time spent with M. Otherwise, I start feeling sad and neglected.

Neither of us sees an end to this chaotic schedule in the near future. That makes it all the more depressing.

Oh well... at least today is my Friday. I'm very happy I don't have to work tomorrow. You'll find me sleeping in (catching up on my much-needed sleep), getting a haircut, and probably making more wedding phone calls. I need to start calling DJs and call some more florists. I'll also make a point to go up to Turtle Hill.

Happy weekend to all!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24