Loriville Gazette
2002 Mar 15 a nice Friday

I always have big plans for my Day Off but then I always end up lazing around and wasting it. Phooey!

I didn't go up Turtle Hill. I didn't wash my car. I didn't call wedding vendors.

Instead, I slept in until 9 then got on the internet and before I knew it, it was 11:30! I then did a kickboxing workout instead of going to the Turtle, since the wind was blowing something fierce. Plus, it was cold.

I went to lunch at the Chinese restaurant in the neighborhood before my hair cut appointment at 2:30. The hair cut was really nice and worthwhile, as my hair doesn't look constantly windblown and shaggy anymore. It actually looks naturally coifed.

After the hair cut, I went on a mission to find a black t-shirt. I went into 3 stores on Haight Street and didn't find anything that fit my criteria.

Then I had to urinate really badly, so I headed home. Afterwards, I headed down the street to one of my favorite clothing boutiques, Luba. It's a shame their stuff is so expensive or else I'd go on a wild buying spree there.

Wouldn't you know it, but I found the perfect black t-shirt there. $30! $30 for a t-shirt?! I hemmed and hawed over it in the dressing room for about 15 minutes trying to decide if I should bite the bullet and purchase it.

I've noticed that my days of poverty come back to haunt me sometimes. Frankly, I think $10 is a fair price to pay for a t-shirt and when I'm faced with something much higher priced, I get all confused and don't know what to do. Do normal people think $30 is a reasonable price for a t-shirt? Sometimes I think my thoughts are all warped because of my past issues with money. Back then, I could barely afford to buy a book of stamps, let alone a $10 t-shirt.

I ended up buying the t-shirt, but I couldn't help feeling somewhat cheated and guilty. But I do love it. I think it will serve me well.

After shopping, I stopped at my favorite coffee shoppe to get a latte. Their lattes are dreamy.

In hindsight, I suppose I was fairly productive today. I would be in much better shape, however, if I could nip my internet addiction. Such a time waster!

Now I'm waiting for the photographer to show up with the engagement prints. We re-scheduled for tonight instead of tomorrow, which is fine by me.

And good news! M and I are indeed having our Date Night tonight. We'll be going to our favorite restaurant. Afterwards, I have no idea what we'll do. Maybe we should look into what double feature is playing at the Balboa Theater.

I think I'll go do that now.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24