Loriville Gazette
2002 Mar 11 my poor aching body

I'm in pretty poor shape today, I'm afraid. M and I went snowboarding on Saturday and I now feel as though I've been in a train wreck.

My abs hurt. My legs feel like they're on fire, resulting in a mean looking limp (because one leg hurts more than the other). My neck is so sore I can barely turn my head.

To top everything off, even my feet hurt thanks to the new shoes I bought last Wednesday night.

Side note: Why do I never learn that I really need a size 8? I tried on both the 7-1/2 and the 8 and for some reason the 8 seemed a little too big. I actually think the length is okay on the 7-1/2's I bought; it's the rise that's too short. The leather is digging into the top of my foot.

They need to stretch. Fast.

So anyway, back to snowboarding. I started off doing pretty well but as time went by, I started getting sloppier and sloppier. All because my legs were getting tired.

On one run, I twisted my right knee and lay there in the snow curled over, face down, crying so hard that my eyelashes became stuck together. That was our cue for a lunch break.

On the run after lunch, near the bottom of the hill, I fell and hit the back of my head on the snow. My neck immediately hurt really badly. I felt so nauseous and lightheaded that I told M I'd meet him in one hour in the lodge.

Back at the lodge, I ordered a beer and got comfortable. I made conversation with a woman who told me all about her ski accident 8 years ago, rendering her too paranoid to enjoy skiing ever again.

M met me at 3 and, since the resort closes at 4, we decided we'd beat traffic and hit the road. We decided we'd stay in Sacramento that night and take it easy.

We went to dinner at my favorite Sacramento restaurant... only to find that it's no longer my favorite. That was disappointing! Since my last visit 9 or so years ago, it had become terribly pretentious and so loud that M and I had to scream over our totones and jerk chicken wings to hear each other. Even worse, the food wasn't as good as I'd remembered.

The next morning we had breakfast with Zaugi, Gary, and Troll. Once we got back to San Francisco, we ran errands. I also bought a new pair of Levi's; M bought 2.

When we got home, we went into a cleaning frenzy before Six Feet Under started. I vacuumed and cleaned the bathroom while M did the dishes.

The photographer called while we were out of town to tell us she has our photos back and ready to show us. Hopefully we'll be able to schedule a meeting with her tonight or this weekend.

And one order of wedding invitation samples arrived, too. We only liked 1 of the 3 samples that arrived from this manufacturer... but the invitation is HUGE! We're going to look for something less obtrusive. Luckily, we're expecting 4 more orders of samples to arrive this week. Hopefully we'll like something well enough so that we don't have to design something ourselves.

That's all I have to report for now. Tune in next time.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24