Loriville Gazette
2002 Feb 06 extreme irritation

So... I've been working on some decorative paving stuff for a certain project the past several months and was getting really close to finalizing it. The specifications of the paving design were determined by our client, the city. The design they requested is not normally something our office does; it is considered "above and beyond" what we typically provide for a city government. However, this project is politically high-profile and everyone on the project agreed we should do it to keep them happy.

Anyway, yesterday I did an estimate of what this paving would cost. I found out it costs about 5 times what standard treatment would cost!

So. I wanted to check with the project manager before I finalized anything so that he realized just how much this specialty item was.

His response did not make me happy. Basically, he just got word that there are going to be funding cutbacks and that we need to remove everything from the project that is non-essential and not safety-related. This, obviously, includes decorative paving.

Many, many hours of work are now down the drain. I wanted to pull my hair out when I heard this. I am behind on several projects because I've trying to finalize the decorative paving on this project... and then I find out that we can't even provide it!

This takes the cake.

To even further emphasize yesterday's entry, this is not a good week.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24