Loriville Gazette
2002 Feb 05 telescopic

This week at work has been insane. I wish it weren't only Tuesday. I have so many simultaneous deadlines that it's hard to focus on just one thing and get it done. While I'm trying to do one thing, I have all the other things hanging over my shoulders and taking up brain space. Brain space I need. Oh, this is a tragic.

I'm just trying to keep my head above water over here.

The worst part about this is that nothing ever goes smoothly. I figured it would take me half a day to get one thing accomplished... but once I got involved in it, I realized a lot of the kinks hadn't yet been worked out. It's going to take more like two days. Two days I don't have. Hell, I didn't even have the half day!

Yes, I'm in a bad place. Please please please let me just get through February.

To top it all off: A) The boxes still aren't unpacked, B) We still need to find an officiant and a photographer, and C) I'm still trying to shake this ugly virus thing.

Last weekend was interesting. First off, I had an appointment with someone who calls himself a "structural massage therapist". A couple of my co-workers had raved about him, saying he rocked their world by "fixing" their chronic pain and health woes.

Of course I had to see what all the fuss was about. All I can say now is "Scott's amazing!" He first has you sit in a very hot hot tub (106 degrees - ouch!) for a few minutes. As we walked into his studio, I briefly explained to him my chronic problems: headaches, inherently weak neck, occasional lower back problems, fatigue, a weird spur/hump on the back on my neck that I've had since the beginning of time, etc.

He told me to lay down on the table and immediately informed me my that pelvis was twisted ("probably caused by a fall on your tailbone when you were really young"). He set about aligning it. Pressure and slight discomfort ensued. Afterward, he told me to stand up. I was so light-headed! Before I passed out, he had me lie down again so he could align my legs ("one of your legs is slightly longer than the other as a result of the pelvis being misaligned"). That wasn't so bad. Then he did some major chiropractic-like adjustments to the back of my neck.

After the ordeal, he told me to take a walk around the block. I was so surprised by how different it felt to walk! It felt fluid and easy! My hip sockets felt relaxed and oh-so-nice. I was still feeling nauseous, though.

When I got back, he explained to me that I'd probably feel light-headed for the next two hours or so. And he reminded me to move around as much as possible over the next three days so that my body could better adjust to the new positioning.

Well, let me just say this... I'm still a little sore (slight muscle soreness - like I've been working out hard) but that horrid hump at the back of my neck is hardly noticeable anymore! I keep asking M to check it in case I'm imagining it (I'm not).

So, anyway, we were going to go out that night with a couple of my friends but we were both feeling under the weather. We stayed in and watched t.v. instead.

On Sunday, though, the weather was delightful so we took a walk up to Turtle Hill, then went back to the house to get our bikes. We rode through the park down to the beach and then back up Irving.

Later that night, we got to see Saturn and Jupiter because the Sidewalk Astronomers Association had set up a couple telescopes in the neighborhood. Seeing Saturn and Jupiter was amazing!

Now M's talking about making his own telescope because he was so excited.

So all in all, it was a good weekend and I'm anxiously awaiting this next weekend... if I can make it through this week.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24