Loriville Gazette
2002 Feb 01 diagnosis: labyrinthitis

Happy February!

FYI, the vertigo I was experiencing on Tuesday was diagnosed as viral labyrinthitis (characterized by violent spinning and tilting sensations which obviously affects the body's sense of balance), a complication of my upper respiratory cold/flu. My doctor called in a prescription for me and, since M works from home on Tuesdays and Thursdays, he was able to pick it up from the pharmacy. Thank heavens... because I wouldn't have been able to.

Luckily, the symptoms lasted only a day and I was able to return to work the next day.

Dammit. If it's not one thing, it's another. Wouldn't you know it but today I woke up with a nice little headache, probably courtesy of neck tension.

But I have good news! I'm seeing this "body worker" tomorrow that a couple of my co-workers have raved about. He's kind of like a chiropractor... but not really in that you only need a few treatments instead of going regularly for years like you would under a chiropractor's care. At least that's how they describe him. I'll know more tomorrow after my appointment. A nice bonus is that he makes you sit in a hot tub for a few minutes before treatment. I'm especially looking forward to that part. ;)

Anyway, my new year's resolution to get more sleep will probably help my health woes tremendously. I've been reading in several sources that a chronic state of sleep deprivation wreaks havoc on the body in many ways, namely the immune system and that system that stabilizes insulin levels (can't remember the name). No wonder I get sick so often and have a hard time stabilizing my blood sugar.

The problem is and always has been that I'm a night owl, albeit a night owl who has to get up at 6 am. (!) As you can see, this is a problem that can't be easily remedied.

There was a crisis at work yesterday, but I don't even want to get into it. Explaining it to M last night over dinner at Pasta Pomodoro, I got so worked up that he had to keep reminding me to keep my voice down. Yes, it was that bad.

Time to go. Adios!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24