Loriville Gazette
2002 Jan 29 this is very disturbing

This morning, as soon as I sat up in bed, I got extreme vertigo. I sat there for a few moments with my head in my hands. I stumbled into the bathroom, completely nauseous.

Once, I lost my balance and fell against the wall. I immediately turned on the computer and did a search on "vertigo" and came up with some interesting information.

A couple sites said that it's not uncommon to have vertigo after a severe flu. I was home sick yesterday with that unending cold, which had become worse.

Today, I felt much better in that regard... and then I get this. So, after standing up from the computer, I actually fell onto the floor!

That's when I called the nurse hotline. The nurse assessed my symptoms, then told me to call my doctor. My doctor's office doesn't open until 8. Humph.

As long as I stay relatively still, all is well.

Ooooh, and I forgot to mention that I found my dress! I sauntered over to Haight Street and went into a couple clothing boutiques. One boutique actually happens to be my favorite. When I was there last summer, I noticed that they had begun stocking a few bridal gowns.

I tried on several gowns and left with the ultimate dress, the one the salesperson called me "statuesque" in. Funny how it's not a dress I'd choose by looking at, but it's definitely the one that looked most becoming on me.

It's a Sue Wong gown. Sue Wong is known for her vintage-looking gowns. This dress happens to look somewhat 1940s. It's a goldenish champagne color: it has a light gold lining and a sheer champagne silk overlay. This results in a shimmery-looking dress. The dress has light, elegant beadwork all over in suble flower design. It has a slight cowl neckline with braided spaghetti straps that crisscross in the back. The back of the dress dips kind of low, about to my mid-back. It looks very sophisticated and is even better than anything I could have imagined.

I also bought my jewelry at the same boutique I bought the dress. The jewelry is antique-looking; really pretty.

I'm soooo glad that's finished. I'm not a big shopper. Sometimes I wonder if I'm missing that female gene that loves to shop. Shopping usually just makes me weary and grouchy.

Well, I'm going to go lie down. I called the doctor's office and the receptionist told me that the doctor will call me back. I'll wait in the horizontal position.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24