Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 11 miscellaneous

Last night, M and I had the most divine meal we've had in a long time. We went to Michelangelo in North Beach. I ordered the salmon special and I can honestly say it's the best salmon I've ever had! There were also grapes, sourdough bread, salads, gummi bears, and egg white/amaretto cookies. Oh, and a full carafe of wine. I don't think I've ever seen that much wine for $14!

Before dinner, we walked along the Marina Green. The weather was perfect. In fact, the entire evening was perfect.

***************

Jukebox CD players set on "shuffle" are the best. How else can you hear Ozzy Osbourne and Baroque classical back-to-back? Playing right now: Tori Amos.

***************

What's with the expression "you look good"? Some people think it's necessary to say that when you haven't seen them in a while... and I simply don't get it. It seems like such a rude, shallow, and inappropriate thing to say. People should be more specific, like "you changed your hairstyle" or "you've lost weight" or "I love your shoes!"... but to say "you look good" leaves me speechless and confused. What's the proper response to that, other than "you look good, too"? I usually respond with "gee, thanks!"

Somehow, I think they just say it because they think it's the appropriate thing to say to someone you haven't seen in a while. I, obviously, don't feel that way.

***************

The fam is coming tomorrow. We're all going to Alcatraz. And lunch at Eliza's beforehand to celebrate Ape & Tracy's one year wedding anniversary. One year! It seems like it was just two months ago. There I go again, sounding old.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24