Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 13 is this what winning the lottery feels like?

Yesterday was fabulous. Perfect in every way. Everyone arrived at my house right on time, which is amazing when you consider that they were traveling from 2 hours away... and in separate cars.

We nixed the bus idea and decided we'd rough it by driving two cars over to Eliza's (where we dined on the most delicious gourmet Chinese food in the city) before heading to Pier 41. We had some time to kill before the boat left for Alcatraz, so we watched the sea lions sunning themselves and/or staring straight up into the sky and/or arguing amongst themselves over the cramped "relaxation quarters". We also ate Ben & Jerry's ice cream.

Once at Alcatraz, we took the audio self-guided tour then met up with Tim, M's friend who is a volunteer ranger. He took us on a "behind the scenes" tour of Alcatraz.

After returning from Alcatraz, we ate dinner at a little cafe near the wharf. Then everyone dispersed.

I was so tired from the long fun-filled day that, after watching Sex and the City and Six Feet Under, I fell asleep before M even turned off the light!

That's what I call a perfect day, all-around.

***************

I think I've got to calm my spending habits a little. Two weeks ago, it was clothing (although I'm returning most of it). Last week, it was shoes. I bought retro tennis shoes from Cloudwalkers and black Franco Sarto mules from Macys. I probably shouldn't be buying more shoes, but how can you resist them when they're on clearance for over half off?

And here I am, researching cars so that I can make that purchase. Part of me loves the car I have... and especially loves not having car payments. The other part wants a new car.

However, I can't even come to a decision on what kind of car I'd want if I were to buy another car. Volvos are now no longer on my list, as the reviews aren't so hot. Now I'm considering a Subaru Outback wagon. Or a Volkswagen Passat. And, of course, I'm still fantasizing about the old BMW 3.0 cs.

I'm going to hold off on researching cars for a while. It's just too frustrating when I can't come to any kind of concensus. I also need to narrow down my list.

***************

I think I forgot to mention that I'm now debt-free. It's so sad I forgot to mention it because, in real life, it was a big celebration. First, I paid off my car last August. It was followed by paying off my credit card last January. Then, most recently, I paid off my biggest debt, my student loans, last May. This was a huge triumph.

I even hung the letter from the financial aid company, showing zero balance and "congratulations!", in my front room. To say that I'm proud is an understatement.

I've waited so long to become financially secure. It was something I dreamed about during my college days of poverty. After graduation, when my debt was at its peak, the poverty continued as I struggled to pay my bills. I barely lived paycheck to paycheck. Hell, buying stamps to mail the bills would sometimes overdraw my account.

I've always taken my credit very seriously. I'm the type of person who pays bills before eating for the month. I'd eat with whatever money was leftover AFTER paying bills. There was never much leftover, so I ate at my mom's a lot (on Melrose Place nights; I didn't have a television) or ate Top Ramen or tacos on "Taco Tuesday" budget night at Del Taco.

But you know what? It paid off. Now I have spotless credit. Banks and stores love me, offering me lots of credit cards with phenomenal interest rates (which I refuse, of course). The spotless credit will definitely come in handy in case I want to buy a home.

Was it worth it? Probably. I have a lot of painful memories associated with being poor, but knowing that I'm now completely debt-free is exhilirating. I still can't get over it when I stop to think about it.

For the first time in my life, I have some money to spare. I now have some money in my savings account, I'm increasing my monthly 401k contributions, I'm not living month-to-month.

In the theory of feast or famine, I've been living the last few months like it's a feast. I translate having a little money in my bank account into I've got to spend it. I'm buying shoes and clothes and shopping for a new car because I've got to use up that extra money in my bank account. I'm used to not having money in there, after all.

This is why I should stop spending so much on frivolous things.

I almost hate to admit it, but having money to spare is not that big of a deal. Definitely not as big of a deal as I thought it would be. Now that I have some extra money floating around inside my bank account, I've found that my life hasn't changed that much. There's definitely less struggle. But it hasn't changed me. I'm now finding, to my surprise, that I don't need the things I once thought I needed. Like new furniture. Or flashy clothes. Or a new car.

My life is just as simple, if not simpler. And it's because I like it like that. Besides, I'm not the materialistic type. I don't need to prove my financial stability to anyone. And I definitely don't need material "fluff" to make me feel better about myself.

Lesson learned.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24