Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 10 car "shopping"

Yesterday, during my lunch break, I did research on cars. In case I want to purchase one I figured I should know what I'm aiming for.

Of course, my heart wants an early 1970s BMW 3.0 csi but my head screams "no!" Logically, I know it probably wouldn't be a good purchase because it probably wouldn't be too reliable due to its age. Plus, the maintenance costs would probably be astronomical because it's rare, to boot. But it's so sharp and good-looking!

However, I like having a reliable car. I love my Legend. Hell, I love Japanese cars, for that matter. I've owned Japanese cars since 1988 (first an Accord, then the Legend I have now). My first car was a Rabbit. It was cute, but it broke down all the time.

Buzzer thinks I have been spoiled by Japanese cars and might feel irritated by a non-Japanese car. If that's the case, I will probably get another Acura.

However, I still want to try something different.

There was a 1972 BMW 3.0 cs listed on craigslist yesterday. I want it.

Then my head butted in and steered me towards the newer Volvos and Audis. I've decided on the Audi 90 or the Volvo S40 or S80. If it's a newer car I decide on, I'm leaning toward the S80 because it doesn't look as sleek and modern as the other two. It has "ridges". It's definitely the most unusual body style for Volvo. It's more elongated, not boxy and boring like the others.

******************

On the way to work this morning, I listened to an old OMD tape I had. It totally reminded me of my early days of college. My friends Genny and Krista and I made an aerobics routine to "Tesla Girls" in our P.E. aerobics class. It was kick-ass, too, because Krista was a dancer and choreographed it seamlessly. Of course, we got an A.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24