Loriville Gazette
2001 June 23 the day I had a run-in with the sun

The front of my legs are extremely sunburned right now. I am more sunburned than I have been since junior high school, when I'd baste in the sun all day at Folsom Lake with Nicole and Tania.

I had forgotten how painful it is. Not only does my skin feel hot and burning but the muscles underneath feel fatigued and achey. This doesn't make any sense.

Even further, it doesn't make sense that I got this sunburned sitting out on M's deck for one hour yesterday. One hour!

This morning, M was telling me that I need to work on building up a base because then, obviously, I wouldn't get so burnt. I see flaws in this way of thinking. The way I see it, it's not natural for humans to spend time out in the sun. There's a reason we're not covered in hair like animals. As a result, we should not go out in the sun unprotected. Especially a human of Danish descent, like me. My pale skin has taught me to be afraid of the sun.

If I were meant to have beautiful bronzed skin, I would have been born with it. Right?

I learned my lesson. I should have covered up my pasty white legs. I guess I just had a momentary lapse of reason, thinking I could get a tan and everything for the summer. Silly me.

At this very moment, Asian Steak Stew is simmering in the crockpot. It's been cooking for three hours so far and already it's smelling mighty scrumptious.

I was a little disgruntled this morning, though, when the grocer didn't have Daikon radish and ginger root for my recipe. I had to leave that stuff out because, frankly, I didn't want to stop off at another store. So, other than the soy sauce, I'm not sure how "Asian" the stew is going to be. Humph.

Well, I guess I'll go pay my Mastercard bill now. Don't have too much fun without me.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24