Loriville Gazette
2001 June 27 new housemates

Just so you're no longer waiting on pins & needles for the verdict, the Asian Steak Stew turned out deliciously. Even M thought so.

I think I'll be using that miraculous crockpot more often.

I started a free weight program last night so I can get buff during my ballet downtime. Wouldn't you know it, but when I tried going back to ballet after a three week hiatus, the doors were closed and locked! It appears as though the academy is on summer break. Of course, it happens every year but I'm too scatterbrained to remember the dates. Every year, I arrive on some day in June to find the doors locked.

Summer session won't start until July 9th and I figured I'd need something to maintain my muscle tone until then.

I did upper body work last night. I'm now sporting a good, slightly sore feeling in my biceps. Tonight I'll do lower body, which I loathe. Lunges are not my friend.

************

In order to attempt overcoming my spider phobia, I've decided to let a few daddy longlegs in my apartment remain residents. Unfortunately, I now have to quickly scan every room I enter for their whereabouts.

I'm learning the quirks of my new housemates. They are gypsies! They just won't stay in one corner for long. One day, while I was at work, one extra large distinguishable longleg moved from his web in the front room to a new web in the bathroom, on the other side of the apartment! He stayed there for a couple days, then disappeared. He may be back in the front room, in his web behind the stereo speaker, but I haven't checked.

They're also very solitary and territorial. Once one spider leaves, another will make the old web site its new home. I don't know if they're rotating their sites or if one just packs up and leaves and the other decides it wants the old, seemingly-prime spot.

I know they eat bugs, but the only bugs I see in my apartment are an occasional gnat. Maybe that's why they eventually decide to leave? They must think my apartment is the House of Famine. Hopefully, they'll pass the word out that there's nothing to eat at my place... and then they'll all move out. That would be nice.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24