Loriville Gazette
2001 June 21 hallucinations

I accompanied Laura to her kickboxing class last night at 24 Hour Fitness. I was too afraid to venture into my "Hothouse Yoga" class so soon because of what happened last time. I may wait until the weather gets cooler before I try Hothouse again.

Laura's kickboxing class was soooo much fun. The hour flew by. I was dripping sweat by the time class was finished, but I didn't feel miserable because the class was kept cool and comfortable. The only complaint I had about the class is that the instructor's music was pretty lame. She was playing Enya-type stuff, which isn't so bad if you're not working out.

Because it was only a one hour class, and because it started at 6:30, I was able to hit Ikea on my way home before they closed. As you know, I specifically went there to buy wooden hangers. But did I stop at just that? Of course not. On top of the three packages of wooden hangers (by the way, I was wrong about the price. A package of 8 costs $4.95! Score!!), I also bought lightbulbs (60 watt ones because I'm down with saving energy), a mesh tea ball infuser for the office (I already have one for home), an oval oven baking dish (I have fantasies of baking meatloaf in it), a muffin tin (mine's all rusty and gross), a round cake pan (you never know when you'll have to bake a cake), and white napkins (I used up all my cute ones with watermelon-colored poppies on them).

I went home feeling very proud of myself for accomplishing so much.

Back at the homestead, after putting away my purchases and taking a shower, I was suprisingly able to be in bed by 10:00. Yeehawwww! I think the last time I was in bed before 11:30 was at least three months ago. How sad it is that I'm entering a chronic state of sleep deprivation. I'll never be able to catch up at the rate I'm going.

Hey, this reminds me of a terrible hallucination I had during my no-sleep college days. It happened after I'd been up for two days straight working on a project with my project partner, Dario. Think about that for a second: 2 nights straight without getting even one minute of sleep. It's just not healthy.

We just kept slaving away in the campus studio, oblivious to time. I don't even think we left to eat. Dario and I took turns doing fast-food joint runs and bringing the food back into the studio so we could continue slaving. We blared Rage Against the Machine to keep us awake.

So anyway, after our presentation to the panel of judges was complete, I drove home. In my sleep deprived delirium, I could have sworn that a huge black spider the size of my fist came tumbling out of my air vent and landed on the floor next to my legs. I panicked, looking around near my feet while trying not to crash, being careful not to move my legs. I didn't see anything. Not wanting to stop (I was tired, dammit! All I wanted to do was get home and collapse into my bed), I continued driving home, frozen with fear.

Once I got home, I carefully hopped out of my car and looked under the car seat for the gargantula. Nothing. I was perplexed. How could a spider that huge be hiding in my car? Then I realized I must have imagined it.

I went into the house, chuckling to myself. Then I slept for 15 hours nonstop.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24