Loriville Gazette
2000 October 15 what a day!

Currently listening to: Incubus

I'm currently undecided on whether or not I'll attend the concert on Tuesday night. You know, in my early 20s this would have been an easy decision: Incubus and Deftones under one roof! However, now that I'm verging on the responsible, it's hard to justify going all the way down to San Jose on a weeknight when I have to work at 8:00 the next morning. Oh the dilemma!

Hell, I should probably just do it. They probably won't tour together again... and only heaven knows just how much I love both bands.

My brother and my sister are going; maybe they could swing by my fair city and pick me up. Maurice, being unfamiliar with both bands, probably won't go. Even though Deftones are from Sacramento, my hometown! What is he thinking?!

Fall is in the air! I am so incredibly happy beyond description.

Today was probably the best weather day of the entire year. San Francisco probably gets about 10 nice t-shirt and sandal days per year; today was one of them. To top it all off, that wonderful balmy fall feeling enveloped the air.

I spent most the day over at Maurice's brother's house. Today they were celebrating the October birthdays... which includes Maurice and one of his brothers, Ed. We ate a lot, like we usually do during family get-togethers. I also found myself oddly mesmerized by the 49er game on the television. I've never done that before, and I will probably never do it again. Thank heavens.

Yesterday, I spent a majority of the day scanning and preparing photos on Photoshop for my web site when I should have been studying for the upcoming licensure exam. Oh, well. I always find it hard to motivate myself when it comes to studying. No big surprise there.

I cooked again on Friday night! Miracles do happen. The fact is... I'm trying to perfect the Sopa de Lima recipe. I think I've come pretty darn close. This time, I didn't puree the onions in the food processor; I diced them by hand. I also added cilantro (lots of it), less tomato, and more fresh lime. It was pretty close to the Yucatecan version. Next time, I think I'll be right on the money by omitting the tomato altogether.

Maurice and I even tossed around the idea of having a Yucatecan Dinner Party. Wouldn't that be fun?

Life would be perfect if I could eat Sopa de Lima every day. It's amazing how content and euphoric I feel after eating two bowls. It's a magical recipe, I tell you.

Well, I suppose it's time for me to start up the Photoshop so that I can finish scanning the last two photos. Au revoir!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24