Loriville Gazette
2000 October 11 on and on and on

I'm now eating my nutritious dinner of a green salad with sweet yellow onions and blue cheese dressing. Yum! I'm washing it all down with a Dos Equis.

I know you're probably thinking that I've suddenly become all fancy and everything by actually preparing a salad. I didn't, really. The salad was of the pre-packaged variety and I really was going out of my way to slice up a bit of onion, then squeeze on the dressing. Spending more than 2 minutes in the kitchen is unusual for me because I usually eat out.

Not tonight. Before I knew it, it was 8:30 and I didn't want to go back out to get something.

I do have some major news, though: I actually prepared a meal Sunday night... which included turning on the stove! I even used the food processor!

The special occasion was Maurice's birthday. He turned 34 on Saturday. I got him the Doc Marten's he was eyeing in the shoe store the other week. I also thought it would be a nice gesture to make some of that Sopa de Lima we became addicted to in the Yucatan. We looked all over San Francisco trying to find a restaurant that made it but had no luck. Because of this, I knew I'd have to try to re-create the masterpiece myself.

All was well during the preparation. Alice was here during the early stages of the preparation to make sure I didn't hurt myself in the kitchen. Then Maurice came over and we all hung out, laughed, and drank wine in the kitchen before Alice had to leave to meet Chris in Oakland.

You're not going to believe this, but the Sopa de Lima turned out simply delicious! It wasn't the same Yucatecan version we relished while in Mexico, but it was pretty good nonetheless. Next time, I'm going to modify the same recipe to see if I can create a more authentic Yucatecan soup.

I never thought I'd say this, but the whole process was pretty easy and painless (well, painless if you don't count the burning eyes as a result of chopping the onion). I was pretty darn impressed with myself. Maurice was probably impressed with my cooking abilities, as well.

Tonight was chiropractor appointment night. I received good news: I get to move my appointment to every other week instead of every week! This is a huge victory in my schedule, as I'll now have every other Wednesday night free to do whatever I wish. It will be nice.

Of course, this was only after the bad news I received last Saturday: the City of SF denied my claim. In their letter to me, they suggested that I contact an attorney and sue the person who hit the Muni bus. On the other hand, my auto insurance claims agent said that my auto insurance will cover up to $5,000 in medical expenses if the City doesn't provide compensation for passengers on their city buses. It looks like I might go that route... yet I'm feeling a little funny about the whole ordeal.

Yes, I really should go after the person who hit the bus... BUT I don't want to deal with the hassle of getting an attorney involved. Am I being overly sensitive? I actually have an attorney through my nifty legal insurance, but part of me doesn't want to deal with the hassle. Plus, I pay for this medical coverage on my auto insurance. I'm entitled to that money.

Yet, it just seems unjust not to go after who's really to blame. I'm torn. I think I'll just call my attorney and get some advice. Whatever.

My eyes are getting increasingly worse. I just noticed this today. I haven't worn my contacts for over 2 weeks in preparation of the LASIK eye correction procedure, but today my eyesight seems really screwed up. It looks like my eyes are finally adjusting back to where they should be.

I can tell the astigmatism is coming back because things at mid-distance are a little distorted. Odd, isn't it? Thank heavens my eye consultation is this Friday. Maybe they can give me some soft contacts to wear until my surgery date. I really don't want to vacation in New York City if I can't see things! What's the point?

Well, I think that's all the news for tonight. I'm off to take a long, hot bath complete with bath salts! I know you're jealous.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24