Loriville Gazette
2000 November 6 catch up

I'm on my lunch break right now so I thought I'd whip out a [hopefully] quick update.

First things first: The Incubus/Deftones concert was GREAT! Unfortunately, however, I had the flu really bad that night and was pretty miserable. I was crying in the car on the way home!

Maurice did change his mind and decided to join us. We bought tickets the day before the concert, but both of us had the flu the night of the concert. We shouldn't have gone... but when you've already shelled out $38, it's kind of hard to back out, right? Even though you can barely stand up. And everything aches. Even your toes.

We left for New York a few days later. Let me just take a moment to say Manhattan is the best! I love that place. It's so odd to think that Manhattan is smaller than San Francisco yet has SEVEN TIMES the population. I'm blown away.

So. We had the time of our lives! We stayed with my cousin and her husband, who live in Forest Hills, a district of Queens. Only a 30-40 minute subway trip to Manhattan!

We did a lot of the touristy stuff and had a blast doing it. We went to the top of the World Trade Center, the top of the Empire State building, Coney Island, Central Park, the MoMA, we saw De La Guarda (incredibly fun!), we walked across the Brooklyn Bridge, we walked all around Chinatown, Greenwich Village, the upper East side, and the 5th Ave. area. We were sad to leave that incredible city.

But we will be back!

A few days upon returning, I was scheduled for LASIK eye surgery. The surgery was a success! I can now see 20/20 with both eyes! It's so exciting.

The entire procedure was a little traumatic, but I'd definitely do it over again. Maybe I'm just a big baby; no one else in the post-surgery waiting room seemed to care that their eyes had just been hacked. Some were talking up a storm about how easy the whole thing was, how excited they were, etc. I, on the other hand, was slumped in the chair against the wall quiet and in shock.

I didn't like it that they had to tape my eyelashes and eyelids back and prop open my eyes. I didn't like feeling that pressure on my eyeballs and hearing that metal clacking during the cornea cutting. I didn't like smelling the tissue burning, kind of like what singed hair smells like.

Needless to say, I was soooo glad when it was over. Yippeeee!

I've got to study for the upcoming licensure exam. I have only 4 more weeks to study, and I'm panicking. I won't be able to study this weekend or the next two weekends. What am I going to do?! $400 down the drain, I guess. The worst part, however, will be that I will have to take it yet again, in June. Will the misery ever end?

Sorry this entire entry is really disjointed and rushed; I've got to get. Ciao!

The color of my toenails this month: silver!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24