Loriville Gazette
2004 Jan 01 happy new year!

Happy 2004! Our New Year's Eve was pretty low-key. M and I went to an out-of-town warehouse party. On the way, we stopped at an Outback Steakhouse for dinner. I had a scrumptious steak, my wine replacement of a cranberry juice & soda, and we finished by splitting a hot fudge sundae. We stayed at the party for only about 1.5 hours before high-tailing it back to the hotel. I was pooped!

This morning, we stopped off at my cousin's house in Santa Rosa before coming back to SF. I've been lounging around the house ever since.

Here's an interesting quiz, stolen from Colz:

LAYER ONE: On The Outside

Name = Lori

Birth date = September 6, 1970

Birthplace = Sacramento, CA

Current Location = San Francisco, CA

Eye Color = Brown

Hair Color = Chestnut brown with golden highlights

Height = 5'5�

Righty or Lefty = Righty

Zodiac Sign = Virgo

LAYER TWO: On The Inside

Your heritage = mostly Danish, then English and Welsh

Shoes you wore today = Black boots

Your fears = Developing mental illness, getting that horrible freaky virus again, and losing a family member

Your perfect pizza = Thin crisp crust pepperoni pizza

Goal you'd like to achieve = Earning a living as a writer

LAYER THREE: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

Your most overused phrase on AIM = N/A (I don't use AIM)

Your thoughts first waking up = Oh, please no! Not yet!

Your best physical feature = My smile or my eyes

Your bedtime = Lately, 10... which is unheard of for me. Pregnancy does strange things to the body....

LAYER FOUR: Your Pick

Pepsi or Coke = Diet Coke

McDonald's or Burger King = McDonald's. Burger King is gross!

Single or group dates = Single

Adidas or Nike = Probably Nike. I prefer the look of Adidas, but they don't fit me as well as Nikes.

Lipton Ice Tea or Nestea = Neither. I don't like instant iced tea.

Chocolate or vanilla = Chocolate.

Cappuccino or coffee = Neither. I order decaf lattes.

LAYER FIVE: Do You?

Smoke = No

Cuss = Sometimes

Sing = Sometimes... and only as a joke. I have a horrendous singing voice.

Take a shower everyday = I try to. Sometimes I wake up too late.

Have a crush(es) = Not really.

Think you've been in love = Absolutely!

Like(d) high school = Not really.

Want to get married = I already am! I never expected to get married but I guess you can say M "tamed" me.

Believe in yourself = Most of the time.

Get motion sickness = Sometimes

Think you're attractive = Yes

Think you're a health freak = No. I wouldn't call myself a "health freak" but I do try to lead a healthy lifestyle.

Get along with your parents = Absolutely!

Like thunderstorms = Love them!

Play an instrument = I used to play the piano and the guitar.

LAYER SIX: In the past month have you...

Drank alcohol = Yes, little sips of wine and/or champagne.

Smoked = No

Done a drug = No

Made Out = It's been a while since I've "made out" with M. It's kind of hard to make out when you have perpetually plugged up sinuses (another fabulous pregnancy symptom!).

Gone on a date = Yep! Every Monday night.....

Gone to the mall = No. I did all my shopping on-line this year and refused to step foot into a mall.

Eaten an entire box of Oreos = No

Eaten sushi = Yes

Been on stage = Yes

Been dumped = Yes

Gone skating = Yes: roller, in-line, and ice.

Gone skinny dipping = No

Dyed your hair = Yes, very regularly since about age 27.

Stolen anything = Only this quiz. LOL!

LAYER SEVEN: Ever...

Played a game that required removal of clothing = No

Been trashed or extremely intoxicated = Yes, I'm ashamed to admit.

Been caught "doing something" = No, thank goodness!

Been called a tease = No

Gotten beaten up = No

Shoplifted = No

LAYER EIGHT: Getting Older

Age you hope to be married = Already am! And honestly, it happened much sooner than I expected at age 32.

Numbers and Names of Children = So far, 1... expected in May and will be named Isaac (it's a boy!).

Describe your dream wedding = Mine! It was even better than I hoped for.

How do you want to die = Surrounded by my family, in peace.

What do you want to be when you grow up = An animal cop!

What country(ies) would you most like to visit = I've gone most places I've always wanted to go... but I still need to go to Prague, Czech Republic. M says it's a city straight out of a fairytale....

LAYER NINE: In a boy/girl

Best eye color? = Any color, as long as they're soulful

Best hair color? = Dark brown

Short or long hair = Short

Height = Doesn't matter

Best articles of clothing = Probably shoes

Best first date location = A quick coffee or lunch date

LAYER TEN: In The Numbers...

Number of drugs taken illegally = 3

Number of people I could trust with my life = Probably 3 or 4

Number of CDs that I own = Probably about 350. I used to buy several CDs/month. Now I buy about 2/year.

Number of piercings = 3 in the left ear, 1 in the right ear

Number of tattoos = None

Number of times my name has appeared in the newspaper? = 1 or 2

Number of scars on my body = 2

Number of things in my past that I regret = Not many. I am a product of my experiences. Without them, I wouldn't be who I am today!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24