Loriville Gazette
2002 Sep 26 unsettled

My coworkers have been calling me "World War 2 Girl" today. They say it�s because of my tailored khaki shirtdress. I find it amusing.

Oakland has a clever "Clean Up Oakland" campaign going on right now. The first billboard I saw said, "Shockingly, radial tires and beer cans are not native to Lake Merritt�s Habitat."

The second: "We don�t care how dirty your mind is, but could you please clean up your yard?"

And the most recent: "Love stinks. But not as bad as a cheese doodle rotting on the sidewalk."

I�ve been addicted to ebay lately. I�m particularly fond of vintage handbags. I�ve seen cute red ones and beige plaid ones. Unfortunately, my workplace blocks ebay from our web browsers. This means I�ve lost out on quite a few snazzy items simply because I couldn�t increase my bid at the last minute.

I�m still bitter about losing out on a darling vintage beige/brown striped "doctor bag" purse with a wooden handle.

On a similar note, I�m aggro today. Reasons include:

1. I need sleep. I�d settle for simply rest.

2. At random times, it feels like there�s a hole being burned in my crotch.

3. SignMyGuestbook.com is down and I�m not able to send a message to a certain someone. This certain someone is a fellow Diarylander who is getting married in two days.

4. I had to clean again last night. The house cleaner we were referred to is impossible to get on the phone.

5. I have an insanely long �to do� list.

6. The Wedding is in exactly one month. See #5, above.

My biggest goal is to get adequate sleep so that these black circles under my eyes will disappear before the wedding.

3-1/2 hours until Sabra arrives. We have tickets to see Elvis Costello on Saturday night in the beautifully restored art deco Paramount Theatre. Yay!

Hasta luego, mashed potatoes!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24