Loriville Gazette
2002 Oct 01 the merry month of October

Welcome, October! You are my favorite month of the entire year. You are so beautiful and perfect!

I've had the Elvis Costello song, Spooky Girlfriend, stuck in my head since yesterday. The song, which crescendos with some slightly off-kilter horn notes toward the end of the song, just cracks me up.

Elvis and gang were fabulous on Saturday night, by the way. They played for 2-1/2 hours! Totally worth the 53 bucks.

The rehearsal dinner location M and I had selected and reserved over two months ago went to "hell and a handbasket"... or however that saying goes. With three weeks to go, they had to nerve to phone us last Friday and tell us they can't host us, after all.

That incident drastically affected my stress levels.

I really can't wait until this whole thing is over. I want it done already. I want to be on vacation already. I want my life back already.

Instead, for the remainder of October, I'm having to think about candles and baskets and how I'm going to work out when there's a guest in our living room for the next 2-1/2 weeks and vendor confirmations and how to stretch my shoes and the timing/schedule and what color to paint my fingernails.

And somehow I have to actually work during all this, too.

Oh, and my car's in the shop getting $1,000 or more worth of work done on it. I'm now eating leftovers from a plastic fork here at my desk so that I can take a very late lunch break in order to pick it up. Oh, the joys of owning a vintage car!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24