Loriville Gazette
2002 Sep 23 more than you wanted to know about my bladder

Diaryland says I haven't updated in 16 days. Damn it.

For the past 7 days, I've been living a nightmare called "bladder infection". I think I contracted the bacteria in the hotel's hot tub when we were in Lake Tahoe the weekend before last.

I'm tired of dealing with it. I'm tired of being bacteria- or virus- ridden one way or another.

I had to miss 1/2 day of work last week so I could go to the doctor, followed by missing a full day due to writhing in pain. I took today off, as well. I couldn't stop crying last night because I'm so overwhelmed. I have a several page long to-do list (I still haven't written birthday thank-you's, for crying out loud!) and can't do any of it because I feel so yucky.

The doctor took a urine test, saw the little weasels in my urine, and prescribed a general run-of-the-mill bladder antibiotic because it works on most bacteria.

Turns out I just got sicker and sicker. Last weekend was insane. Even though I had lots of fun with Zaugi (to celebrate her birthday, we went wine tasting then rented a movie and sent out for pizza), the pain gradually increased in intensity until it was almost unbearable. Finally, I broke down and bought Uristat. That mostly tied me over until I could call the doctor first thing Monday morning. This is sad to say, but I think I'm becoming immune to Uristat. It just doesn't take away the pain like it used to.

This morning, my doctor and I practically called each other at the same time. She received the lab results this morning and the results proved that I had been given the wrong antibiotic because the bacteria living in my bladder are immune to Cipro. She said, "I've personally never seen a bacteria like this. I have to prescribe you something stronger... and for longer." Great.

So today while popping my first new antibiotic, I thought, "Bye bye, nasty beasts!" They'll be sorry they ever thought my bladder would make a good home.

My abdomen is very uncomfortable and I have the chills. So, with that, I'm now going to go lay down under my goose down comforter and watch hideous t.v. I need to gather all my healing energy so I feel fantastic once again (and also stop embarrassing myself at work by calling in sick so often).

Thursday, Sabra arrives! We will be hiking in Marin county, ogling art displays at the SF MoMA, traipsing the Golden Gate Bridge, clothes shopping on Haight Street, and maybe even gazing at Elvis Costello (given we can still get tickets for the Friday night show).

Night night.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24