Loriville Gazette
2002 Sep 06 32

Happy birthday to me! I'm really enjoying my day, so far. I took the day off work so I could lounge around and maybe get some things done.

I slept in until 9. M had to go to work (*pout*), but since he doesn't need to be at work until 10 or 10:30, he always sleeps in late. Then, I got up and made myself faux French toast and lounged around in my pajamas (at the computer, nonetheless - that thing is a black hole of wasted time!) until 11:00. I just finished doing two back-to-back workouts and will be getting in the shower shortly.

As I type, I'm enjoying a bottle of German Oktoberfest marzen. Ulli brought it from Germany for me. I drank the weissbier immediately after she arrived. What can I say? I love the stuff! And, sadly enough, you can't buy Unertl brand here. I may have to make a special trip to Germany soon just to purchase some!

I'm thinking of maybe getting my hair cut today. I tried to last weekend, but Diva was on vacation. I was so disappointed.

When I arrived home from work last night, M surprised me with a dozen red roses for my birthday! He told me that since he had to work today, he wouldn't have time to get them today. And at least I can enjoy them all day today.

He's taking me to Farallon tonight, which is considered one of San Francisco's best seafood restaurants. I've heard so many rave reviews about the place and since neither of us has been there, we figured my birthday was the perfect opportunity.

M is the best. Things have always been dreamy between us, but things have recently been stepped up a notch. Neither of us has been moody in a while and we're even more affectionate than usual, more attentive than usual. We've even been falling asleep with our hands clasped.

Since we're trying to conserve our money for next month's big party, we decided we wouldn't be buying presents for each other's birthdays (his is only 4 weeks after mine). Instead, we decided we'd go on a weekend trip sometime between. Maybe we'll do this next weekend or the weekend after. I'm not even sure where we'll go; maybe Lake Tahoe or Big Sur.

And speaking of the wedding, the responses are pouring in! It's exciting to see who's coming. And, strangely enough, none of our guests have had issues with the "no kids" thing. M has had to answer a few questions, but he says everyone is very understanding and hasn't made a big deal about it all. I am beyond relieved!

We pretty much have everything done and planned out. The remaining items on our list include:

-Get marriage license

-Buy chocolate for the favor bags

-Buy attendant's gifts

-Send tux info to my dad

-Send photographer shot list

-Buy colored note paper and a couple nice pens for the guest "book"

-Double-check on borrowing Zaugi's large glass vase

-Send out rehearsal/dinner invites

-Design and print ceremony programs

-Confirm date and times with vendors

I am sooo glad we worked hard early on because now we can relax. I'm not stressed about anything except for being the center of attention on the wedding day itself. I thought the "no kid" thing was going to be a huge fiasco, but so far so good.

Well, I'd better get going so I can jump in the shower and pour myself another glass of marzen. Yum!

Have a great weekend! I'll be in Sacramento on Sunday to celebrate with my family.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24