Loriville Gazette
2001 Nov 29 superstorm

I really don't have anything to eat in my apartment. I planned to do a market run last night but the weather was atrocious. The wind was howling and water was spraying from the sky.

I like rain because it makes everything clean. I just don't like wind. Umbrellas don't work when it's windy and, frankly, I don't like the feel of raindrops running down my scalp.

Anyway, by making do with what I had on the homestead, I whipped up a cheese and sour cream omelet and persimmon pudding (modified so as not to include sugar or flour). It was a delicious dinner but obviously not very balanced, as no un-rotten veggies were to be found in my refrigerator.

Then, since my monthly wine shipment from Viansa had come, I ripped open the box and admired two beauties: a Cabernet Franc and a Cabernet Sauvignon. I immediately tore into the Cab Franc - super yummy! Only after doing that did it occur to me to learn a little about what I was drinking. While sipping the delectable goodness, I read the literature that accompanied the shipment. That's when I found out that the bottle I was enjoying cost $55.00! Zoinks! Had I known, I would have saved it for a special occasion. My only saving grace is, that by belonging to the wine club, I get great rates on the wine... meaning that I get two wines every month for the bargain price of $38.00 (not including tax and shipping).

I told M I'd save him some... if I don't go crazy and drink the whole bottle before I next see him (currently scheduled to be tomorrow night, although he's come down with a nasty cold. Who knows now what will happen. I refuse to get sick).

The wind blew all night and the rain slapped hard against my windows. It woke me up a couple times over the course of the night.

This morning, there were several flooded areas around the city. Now there's a beautiful full moon looming outside my office window.

It's almost ballet time. Ciao!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24