Loriville Gazette
2001 Oct 25 ethereal sunsets and Indian food

You should have seen the lovely sunset last night. It was incredible. I was driving home from work (because I drive on Wednesdays when I plan on going to yoga after work - I couldn't go last night) and there it was: a bright easter egg blue sky with bright salmon clouds juxtaposed on top.

As it got darker, the easter egg blue turned cobalt and the salmon turned blood red.

Just to think... had I been riding BART, I wouldn't have seen that! I would have been speeding towards San Francisco in a dark underbay tube. I'm thankful for driving yesterday.

M and I went to my favorite Indian restaurant for dinner last night. Star India on Geary, walking distance from my house. They have the absolute best pakoras and chicken Makhawani! Plus, we always get the best service there.

One of the waiters there is so funny! He says, "take your time, take your time. No rush! Enjoy your dinner" really fast and in a thick Indian accent every time he comes around our table to bring us food, take away empty platters, or re-fill water glasses.

One time, when he was filling up water, I thought I'd make things easier and just hand him my water glass. He chastised me, saying "that is my job! I will do that! Just relax and enjoy your dinner."

I commented to M, "What does he think we're doing? Inhaling our food? Do we appear to be in a hurry?" I thought it was incredibly humorous. After that, every time he'd come to our table and comment for us to take our time, relax, etc. I would stifle laughter.

After our delicious dinner, we rented Sling Blade. Brilliant! Everything about it is fabulous and really well done. Plus, it really gets you thinking....

My favorite quotes:

"I can tell you're a thinker, Carl. What are you thinking about right now?"

"I guess I was just thinking if I should take some of these French-fried potatoes home with me...."

I give Sling Blade a thumbs up.

Today is a perfect fall day. The air is super clear and warm and the leaves have started changing colors. It makes me want to eat caramel apples at Apple Hill.

Countdown: only 6 more days until my favorite holiday!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24