Loriville Gazette
2001 Oct 24 the last straw and getting proactive

I was very sad and frustrated last night. So sad and frustrated that I almost started crying on the bus on the way home from work.

Once at home, I laid down on my bed for a while, like I've been doing every day for the past week and a half. Then I forced myself to get up so I could do menial things like open mail and a can of vegetable beef soup for dinner.

I thought to myself, I can easily understand how someone can become an alcoholic. It does a fairly good job of killing pain.

I'm sick of these headaches. They are impacting my life, making it so I can no longer do the things I enjoy. Analgesics don't work.

I used to enjoy ballet and yoga. Now just the thought of going is painful because my head throbs so much. And when I don't go, I feel guilty because the more time that passes since I've gone to class, the harder it is to motivate myself to go. It's a vicious cycle that must be stoped.

If I quit, it will be 2+ years of training down the drain for ballet; 3+ for yoga. Is it worth it? I don't know. I don't plan on becoming a prima ballerina or an enlightened yogi, obviously, but I just don't want the benefits I received during training to disappear.

I racked my brain last night, looking for answers. What could be causing these headaches? When did these start? Was there a trigger?

One of my friends at work thinks I'm burnt out. Burnt out on stretching myself too thin for so long. Going to class three nights/week, allowing myself very little free time and sleep. I can't cook meals for myself at home because I'm never at home.

Maybe I've reached the breaking point.

I thought to myself last night that maybe I should give yoga and ballet a rest for a while. Maybe I should take a break from it for two months and resume in January. But then I asked myself, would that make me feel better? The answer: probably not.

I'm tired of wallowing in self-pity. I hate that my headaches are preventing me from having the life I used to enjoy.

I've determined that maybe the chiropractic adjustment I got a couple weeks ago could have been incomplete or whatnot. I called this morning and made an appointment for Friday, my day off, after the dentist appointment I scheduled over a month ago. (Not much of a day off, is it?)

If the chiropractic appointment doesn't work, I'm going to the doctor. I'll ask for biofeedback training if they can't determine the cause. Under no circumstances do I want heavy narcotics.

I'll fix these headaches if it's the last thing I do.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24