Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 27 Good Guys fiasco

It's amazing to me how fast August has flown by. I can barely remember any of it.

M and I were reunited yesterday. It was so good to be near him once again. He was pained by jet lag yesterday so we didn't do anything high-activity. After a Good Guys run, we went to lunch, went to Rite Aid to pick up my Rx, detailed the interior of my car, then watched our taped episodes of Six Feet Under.

I'm disgusted with Good Guys right now. I'm also disgusted with the price I'm going to be paying for a car stereo system, but that's another story.

I went to Good Guys on Saturday before my trek to Sacramento. I explained to the salesperson that I would not be able to survive a 2+ hour trip without a stereo so I needed installation immediately. I chose my stereo system, then he went out to look at my car. He explained that the car needed a custom dashboard wire kit (as all BMWs do) and new wiring to the door and back speakers. This would all take at least 4 hours, and be about $175 extra.

4 hours wasn't going to work with my schedule, so I made an appointment for the next day, after I would return from Sacramento. M and I rolled into Good Guys at 2:30 so that we could have all the paperwork finished before my 3:00 appointment. That's when the salesperson told me that the stereo system I wanted was no longer in stock (!) and that I would need to come back another day (!). Hugely disappointed and extremely hungry, M and I went to lunch and discussed the situation. I became outraged and decided we would go back there and demand that the stereo be installed today, even if they had to upgrade at their cost. So we did.

It didn't help. In the half hour that we were at lunch, the salesperson had, of course, cancelled our appointment. It was immediately filled by someone else. So we still had to come back on another day. And then they didn't have one set of speakers that I wanted but I said, "No, that's the one I want. Can you get them from the other store?". The salesperson sheepishly said he supposed he could.

I paid for everything and expect them to have everything ready to go when I come back on Wednesday. I don't trust them, but what choice do I have? If they don't follow through, they will have to deal with my wrath. Then I will take my business somewhere else. I'm tired of dealing with clowns.

In other news, I'm treated like a celebrity in my car. People wave, point, mouth "I like your car", and give me thumbs up. I'm not used to this attention on the road.

I'm disturbed it's Monday AND by the fact that I have to drive down to a job site in San Jose today and meet with the contractor. It will probably be hot there; I'm so not looking forward to it. Ugh.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24