Loriville Gazette
2001 Aug 28 is bad service a new trend?

Last night I became grumpy in Village Pizzeria. "I'm tired of getting bad service wherever I go!" I yelled in the middle of conversation. M looked shocked at my outburst. The fact is, however, that we had been waiting there for 10 minutes with our menus closed (restaurant code for "I know what I want and am ready to order"). It wasn't particularly busy in the restaurant, either... just like the four other times we'd gone there and had received bad service. You'd think I'd learn, huh?

I continued, "Maybe we should just leave. This is ridiculous." We pondered leaving for a while but didn't know where we'd go. We had found a pretty good parking space, to boot.

Finally, I calmed down and we decided to stay. Of course, we endured poor service, but we tipped accordingly. Plus, we decided we'd never go there again (even though their pizza is delicious). What a shame.

I guess this tragedy simply happened too soon after the Good Guys incident. I'm typically more tolerant.

Why can't all places just have service like Villa Romana? The folks at Villa Romana are gems. Whenever M and I go in there, we get the royal treatment. The host always recognizes us and brings things to our table without charging us for them. Last time we were in there, he brought us pre-dinner bruschetta. The time before that, he brought us after-dinner apertifs.

Last night, after dinner, we rented Chocolat. Excellent movie; I loved it tremendously.

Today M is fiddling around with my car. He's going to replace a hose, remove the window tinting, and attempt to figure out the electrical system to see if he can fix the back up lights and the high beams. Yay! He's such a nice boy. What would I do without him?

There is talk of BART going on strike. If they do, there will be major mayhem. I'm not sure how I will get to work if they do strike, for I surely don't want to sit in stopped traffic for 3 hours each way just to go 15 miles. I hope it won't come down to that. If it does, there will be unimaginable chaos. I don't want to be here in the bay area when hell breaks loose.

I painted my toenails a beautiful shade of metallic medium purple last weekend. Too bad I'm not wearing sandals today to show them off.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24