Loriville Gazette
2001 Jul 19 return to civilization

I'm back. Back from the incredible kingdom of Jellystone Park. And Teton National Park. And Jackson Hole. And Lava Hot Springs. And a brief 1 hour visit at Grandpa & Grandma's house in Rigby, Idaho.

M and I traveled with my mom and aunt after the reunion in Lava Hot Springs to do some sightseeing in Jellystone/Grand Tetons and environs. We saw hundreds of bison, dozens of elk, and a couple deer. We also saw bubbling geysers and mud pots and hot springs and incredible waterfalls. We even got to stay in Old Faithful Lodge. We hiked in the glorious Tetons. We took a ferry across Jenny's Lake.

I gave M the tour of my Grandpa & Grandma's house while Grandpa and Grandma prepared turkey sandwiches for lunch on our way back to Salt Lake City to catch our flight. I showed him where the candy eggs were typically hidden in the family room on Easter morning. I showed him the toy room in the basement where I used to play... even though I was afraid of the basement. I showed him where we used to make snowmen in the front yard. We ate in the kitchen where my brother, my aunt (who's only 5 years older than me!), and I used to make "Fly-to-the-Moon Juice".

The big top-opening freezer in the garage is no longer there. That's where Grandpa kept the chocolate ice cream. I remember eating chocolate ice cream cones on hot summer days. I remember hunting for bird's nests in the spruce trees in their back yard. There were so many black-capped chickadees.

I remember fishing on the Snake River with my dad and brother. And Grandma frying the fish we caught for dinner the next night. I remember the breakfasts on the mornings we had to leave to drive back to California. One particular morning when I was real small (~ 5 years old?) Grandpa said tears were going to come out of his ears because he was so sad we were leaving. I can't believe I still remember that.

I have so many good childhood memories.

I ate too many sweets on this trip. Hell, we ordered dessert every single night! I'm afraid it's now a bad habit. Unfortunately, my pants are getting tight. I have to devote myself to strict, healthy ways of eating so that I can drop the 5 lbs. I gained. Sheesh!

It seems like I was gone a lot longer than 6 short days. Now I'm back in the rat race and spent all day in Advanced Photoshop training even though I only got 4 hours of sleep last night.

M and I have been doing a lot of thinking about our upcoming backpacking trip in Lassen. We bought a backpacking guide while in Jackson Hole that is giving us newbies lots of good advice. I read the entire book on the plane last night, including the chapters on "pooping in the woods" (put mildly, the toilet paper alternatives don't sound too inviting... neither does the woman's "pee rag") and "packing so you won't break your back". I think I'll really enjoy backpacking even though I'll most likely have to get used to lots of things. I'm really excited now that I've read the book and know what to expect.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24