Loriville Gazette
2001 June 15 the week's synopsis

There's a gnat here that's very determined to annoy me. The more I bat at it, the more it just wants to fly in my face. What's worse, it's trying to get into my coffee and won't take no for an answer.

I'm going to the Live 105 (local modern rock radio station) concert tonight at the Shoreline Amphitheater. The lineup includes Blink 182, The Cult, Staind, Fuel, Disturbed, Alien Ant Farm, 311, Stabbing Westward, Pennywise, Oleander (my hometown band!), and about 10 other bands I'm not familiar with. M is going to be there all day, lucky boy. I have to work and won't be able to meet him until 7 or so.

So. The exam. Let's just say that I expect to take it over again which, of course, saddens me deeply. As I was driving away from the exam, it occurred to me that I made some terrible mistakes. I'm just not sure at this point if those mistakes automatically mean that I failed the entire section. I sure hope not.

I won't know the results until September. Grrr.

I'm now taking medication for an especially fierce bladder infection. As luck would have it, the extreme bladder pain sprung up out of nowhere on the morning of the exam. I had to stop once on my 15 minute commute to the exam location, at a McDonald's, to use their bathroom! Since I was beginning to panic, I decided to take a bladder anaesthetic to kill the pain so that I could make it through the exam.

It worked beautifully. However, the pain returned yesterday after the anaesthetic wore off. I called my doctor's office from work, asking them if they could prescribe medicine over the phone for me because I knew it was a bladder infection. No, they could not. And, since there was blood, they said I should be seen immediately. So I left work yesterday 2.5 hours early to make it to the doctor's office before they closed at 5. Sure enough, it was a raging bladder infection. They gave me some of their prescription samples of Cipro so that I wouldn't have to go to the pharmacy! Yay, free medicine!

I took my first dose before I even left the doctor's office and found almost immediate relief. Thank heavens. Bladder infections are the pits.

Well, it's off to work I go. Be good!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24