Loriville Gazette
2001 Apr 25 Lori's Life: the movie

Well, that diaryland news update about the downed server explains my angst. About three hours ago, I was at work on my super-fast internet connection compiling a 20+ minute entry and all of a sudden everything went all "wonky" (as Andrew would say). I lost everything. Hence my angst.

I missed Bikram yoga tonight, dammit. I don't know what I was thinking. I was concentrating hard on my work when all of a sudden I realized how late it was. Too late, I'm afraid, to change into my yoga clothes, remove my makeup, drive down to the studio, and find a place to put my sticky mat in the yoga studio. So I didn't go. This makes me very edgy.

So after I disgruntlingly (is this a word?) shut down my computer, huffed out of the office, and barreled home in my newly tuned-up car, I came back home to find that the book that I had ordered from ebay finally arrived! I read it for few moments... until my stomach became really angry for allowing it to become so hungry. Then I fed it dinner: a protein/flaxseed muffin with a dollop of sour cream and a grapefruit. Not much of a dinner, I know, but my refrigerator is practically bare right now and I was too tired to go out and pick something up. My stomach was even too impatient to wait on having something delivered. So there you have it.

C-U inspired me to post how I would cast the story of my life. I actually thought about this a few months ago, complete with movie soundtrack. Odd, I know. Sometimes I'll do that: I'll be walking to the bus stop or something and think to myself, "That one Pixies song would work really well right about now...." I realize this a little unusual, but I sometimes think of my life as strings of mini-movies.

The soundtrack thing, though. That's really tough because there's soooo many songs I would HAVE to include in my life movie. However, the soundtrack would probably be approximately 4 CDs long. Not acceptable.

M and I agreed that Marisa Tomei would have to be cast as my character. Okay, I do look a little like her, but M says it's because she is intelligent, yet goofy. He thinks I'm very goofy. Maybe it's because I sing to him in the mornings while he's still trying to sleep (I have to get up two hours before him every single weary morning). I make up the lyrics and, of course, use his name a lot. (For the record, I'm not a very good singer.)

I thought a good runner-up for me would be Geena Davis, but M didn't agree. That's all I have to say about that.

Bruce Willis would be cast as M. I think this is fairly appropriate... not that I've ever thought of Bruce Willis as a yummy boy... but more because their styles and mannerisms are similar.

(If I casted my #1 Hollywood sex God to play M, it would definitely be Nicolas Cage. He's dreamy. Although they look somewhat similar, their mannerisms are not.)

Heather Graham would be my friend, Sandy. I saw Committed last Sunday (very good movie) and was in awe of how much they resemble each other. In this particular movie, some of Heather's body language and facial expressions were so amazingly like Sandy's. A big plus is that there is a remarkable similarity in their eyes and mouth. Second runner-up to play Sandy: Reese Witherspoon.

Claire Danes would be cast as my sister. There is something about Claire that reminds me of my sister. I can't put my finger on it. Maybe it's that mannerism stuff. My sister and Claire have similar features, but my sister has the most beautiful straight blondish-red hair you've ever seen.

Steve Martin would be my dad. They are very similar... mostly in a comedy sense. My dad has an obscure, dry sense of humor. I find his humor funny because, frankly, I have a dry sense of humor myself. My sister doesn't. She gets disgruntled when I laugh at my dad's jokes. She says, "You're just encouraging his bad sense of humor. His jokes aren't funny." (She has a mean streak, by the way.) I, on the other hand, will occasionally become embarrassed because I see humor in places some people don't. I laugh, then people look at me strange because they have no idea what I'm laughing at.

Susan Sarandon would probably be my mom. She's a modern, cutting-edge woman. So is my mom. Plus, my mom looks like her.

So there you have it. I'm still undecided who would play friends Alice and Ellen. Oh, and Francine would probably be played by Ileana Douglas (for some inexplicable reason, I think of Francine whenever I see a movie with Ileana Douglas in it).

Well, I'm tired. It's time for me to take a hot bath. I've been procrastinating on my bath-taking because I really need to clean the bath tub beforehand. Cleaning bath tubs is not fun.

Nighty-night.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24