Loriville Gazette
2001 Apr 24 automobile woes

My fortune, received last night from an Eliza's fortune cookie: "Good health will be yours for a long time." (I'm a superstitious nerd when it comes to good fortunes. I keep all the good fortune cookie fortunes I've ever received.)

---------------

I dare someone to tell me that there's not something wrong with spending $586.65 for a tune-up, a new rotor cap, some "electrical wiring" (whatever that means), a new air filter, and an oil change. I'm fairly disturbed right now because that's what my mechanic charged me.

I'm marching down to the mechanic with M first thing tomorrow morning to pick up my car and I intend to get some answers. He thought the final price was a little fishy, as well. Maybe they thought they could grossly overcharge me because I'm a desperate female who had her car towed into their shop this morning??? They're unaware that I know more about the workings of cars than most women. And I know $586.65 is steep.

Of course, there could be a communication breakdown, as I have a hard time understanding the mechanic/owner. He has a thick Chinese accent. I intend to eagle-eye the itemized costs. I'm no dummy.

Hell, if I had my choice, I wouldn't have taken it to that shop. I would have elected to take it my shop, across the street from where I work (isn't that handy?), but my emergency roadside service will only tow free-of-charge to the nearest mechanic. Because I was at home in San Francisco, they allowed me to choose between any mechanic within a 1 mile radius. How nice of them.

I missed my chiropractic appointment last night because my car wouldn't start. How do you like them apples?! I'm sure my chiropractor probably thinks I'm just making up excuses not to come by now. I missed my appointment last week and again last week. Two times in a row! That's pathetic.

I hate having car troubles. It's probably the most frustrating thing in the entire world.

Other than this car fiasco, which caused me to be late for work (organizing the towing, etc.), I had a pretty nice day. I went out into the field with Laura. The weather was gorgeous! And we even found a fun bouncy-ball in the right-of-way. I brought it back here and washed it off with soap and water in the bathroom basin (it was pretty nasty). It will be a fun office toy.

Well, I'm not going to ballet tonight. I'm just beat. I'm going to go home, do some form of exercise, then wait for M to pick me up and take me over to his house since I'm sans car. :(

L

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24