Loriville Gazette
2000 September 22 slowly getting back into the groove

Things just haven't settled down yet since I've returned from my trips. This is my first week back and I'm still floundering to catch up.

In a nutshell, Mexico was fabulous! We did and saw many incredible things that I'll never forget. I'll be posting photographs and details of the trip on my web site as soon as I can get a spare day or two to update it. The last time I published my updated web site was April 12th. Isn't that pathetic?

I'm working on it, I assure you. I have something like 30 files I still need to re-format. I just need time.

I had a wonderful birthday. I love being 30. I already feel more intelligent, more attractive, and more at peace with myself. Or maybe that's simply a result of finally getting to take a much-needed, long overdue vacation to a beautiful foreign country...?

We were back in San Francisco for only three days before having to jump on a jet again. This time we went to southern Wyoming for a wedding. We flew in to Denver, rented a car, and drove up to Tie Siding, Wyoming. Maurice's friend's, Aaron and Melissa, got married at a small dude ranch near Tie Siding. It was an incredibly beautiful setting. Most of the 40 or so wedding guests were able to stay at the ranch for the weekend. Everyone whooped it up eating, drinking, being merry, horseback riding, hot-tubbing.

Being back has been hard. Work is kind of a drag right now because I'm currently "between projects" so I fill my time organizing my project files and reorganizing my electronic files on the hard drive and on the network.

I went to ballet on Tuesday night after a four week absence. I was decidedly clumsy and graceless. I know I must have looked like a clown. This was my first class since moving up one level. However, it doesn't help that, of about 40 students in the class, I only recognized 3 others. These others that I didn't recognize are advanced students who take this class to "practice". Their incredible skill only made me feel insecure about my abilities. Many of the sequences were new and I couldn't pick them up very easily. I was so frustrated! Pirouettes were introduced while I was in Mexico; I have yet to receive instruction on how to do them properly. In the meantime, I'm faking it.

I couldn't go to ballet last night because I had had a migraine since the day before. Luckily, today it's gone.

Alice is throwing me a 30th birthday bash in Sacramento tomorrow night; I can't wait! It's a swank 1950s theme. Everyone must come dressed up. We'll be serving sushi, Chinese chicken salad, cheese fondue, martini cosmopolitans, etc. We'll play The Platters, Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, etc. It will be a whole lotta fun.

!Hasta luego!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24