Loriville Gazette
2000 September 3 bon voyage

Well, this is it. I'm leaving for Mexico tonight. It hasn't really hit me yet that I'll be going on [a long overdue] vacation. Things have been so chaotic around here lately that I haven't really had time to think about it. I'll just be glad when I'm on that airplane....

I was racing to make a deadline at work all last week, and finally tied up all the loose ends on Thursday night (my last day at work before heading out of town). Thank heavens it's over and done with.

I went to REI on Friday to buy some last-minute items for the trip. Stuff like a travel pillow, Teva sandals, bug spray, and water purifier. Don't ask me why those 4 items added up to $88. Trust me; it wasn't a mistake (I checked). Remind me never to go to REI again... or at least to expect the amazingly rude behavior I experienced while in that store. The last time I experienced such rudeness was five years ago, in Switzerland! Since when do people think they can ram into someone without excusing themselves? How can they not realize that they just body-slammed a bystander? It's fairly obvious. I worry about people sometimes.

On Friday, I also got my hair cut short. It's now similar to Lisa Rinna's (the woman with the big lips from Melrose Place). I feel so much lighter! I swear I probably lost at least 5 pounds from that haircut alone.

I'm sure Burning Man will miss me this year. The burn will happen tonight, dammit. People started the trek several days ago. On the way to my hair cut, I saw a hitchhiker guy camped out at the freeway onramp, in the rain, holding a sign that simply said Burning Man. He looked like he was in his mid-20s and was wearing a denim button-down and khaki pants. It obviously looked as if it were his first time to the event; he didn't appear to have any gear with him. He must be crazy!

I've heard this year Black Rock City is getting dust storms and some rain, which I experienced my first year there. Dust storms are not fun! Neither is the rain; it turns the entire city into a gargantuan mud bath.

I heard that the expected population this year is supposed to reach 30,000 (last year it was 27,000). That's fairly insane.

Today I've got to pack, run some last-minute errands, and take in the seams on a couple sundresses I'm taking to the tropics. Fun.

This is officially the last entry I'll be making as a 20-something. The next time you'll hear from me, I'll be the big three-oh.

Over and out.



back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24