Loriville Gazette
2004 Apr 12 health insurance dilemma

So, yeah. I just got off the phone with HR regarding how my benefits will work during maternity leave and a leave of absence.

The way it is:

1. During my 3 month maternity leave, my employer will pay the entire portion of my health benefit premiums. Once I return from maternity leave, they will set up an Accounts Receivable to get paid back for what I normally pay of my health premium (approx. $57 per month for my share; not sure what it will be once the baby is added... although I'm estimating double that).

2. For any leave of absence I take after the 3 month maternity leave, I will be required to pay ALL of the health premium, which is approx. $315 per month for myself (and will be $630 once the baby is added). If we add M, that will be approx. $820 per month for all of us. Crikey!

I find all of this rather ridiculous. Why the hell is health care so freaking expensive?!

M has been paying COBRA health benefits since last July. He says his share is about $250 per month for Kaiser. I should have transferred him over to my health insurance coverage last fall during the "open enrollment" but it didn't occur to either of us. We could have saved a ton of money. I could just kick myself!

M's plan is to have a new job by July. I'm crossing my fingers that his new job offers Blue Shield health insurance because that's what I have and like. I have spent a ton of time finding great doctors under Blue Shield and will go berserk if they offer only Kaiser. I think I'd rather pay full premiums out-of-pocket for Blue Shield than get free Kaiser.

Or, maybe we'll add M to my health plan during the next "open enrollment" this fall and simply pay the $820/month ridiculous premium on all of us until I resume working again.

Decisions, decisions! My head is spinning, the heartburn rages on, and my shoes and watch are too tight. (!)

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24