Loriville Gazette
2002 May 19 anticipation

Woooo-hooooo! It's all set; the plane tickets are purchased. We're going to New Zealand and Australia for our honeymoon!

We'll be stopping in New Zealand first and spending six days there. From Auckland, New Zealand, we'll go to Sydney and spend the remaining twelve days there. Sometime during our time in Sydney, we'll take a flight to Perth, on the western coast, and stay with M's friend, Rory.

We'll be buying the Perth airfare from qantas.com in Australian Dollars because the exchange rate is so phenomenal. Aren't we smart?

And we've decided to splurge on our first night's hotel in each city, possibly even staying in a 5-star hotel suite. We'll tell each hotel it's our honeymoon hoping that we'll get a lot of comps, like free champagne or satin sheets.

Hell, we're even going to tell the airlines we're on honeymoon. Our hope is that we'll be bumped into First Class without having to pay the full difference. Wouldn't that be nice? First Class sure would be handy on the 15+ hour flight.

So. I'm excited. Dammit, is it October yet?

So far, our only plan is to go to koala parks and do the Sydney Harbour Bridge "BridgeClimb". We did absolutely no research on Australia or New Zealand before we purchased the airfare and haven't had much time since. But I know enough of what's offered to be very excited about this trip. After all, I've wanted to go to Australia since I was 11!

I'm sorry this weekend is almost over. I need more relaxation before the ragged cycle starts all over again.

I've been dragging my heels on going to the grocer. I hate grocery shopping! But frankly, grocery shopping is the last thing I want to do on a lazy Sunday. Correction: It's the last thing I want to do on any day.

My personal plan for today involves writing and submitting two articles (I'll explain in a minute), dyeing my hair, and watching Six Feet Under. Too bad it's already 6:00! Looks like I might not accomplish all those tasks.

As for the article-writing, I'm hoping to actually jump-start my writing dream by publishing articles on ultimatewedding.com. I never would have thought I'd be writing wedding-related articles, but this seems like a prime opportunity because 1) Ultimatewedding.com, where I keep a bridal journal, sent out a request for freelance writers not too long ago and I figured, 'what the hell?', 2) Because I'm planning a wedding of my own, I'm currently an expert on weddings, and 3) This is a way to get published.

The pay is minimal but at this point, that's... well, not the point. My goal is to get published so I can advertise that fact to other potential publishers.

And with that, I'd better get back to Microsoft Word.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24