Loriville Gazette
2001 Nov 12 Loriville: the movie review site

Thank goodness I don't have to work today. It's been raining hard all morning and all I wanted to do was stay bundled up in my cozy bed. M was grouchy and sad because he had to crawl out of the pillowy warmth and head to work in this driving rain. Pobre cito!

Last night M and I actually went to a movie theater! Miracles do happen. You see, we almost always rent movies because we can't justify spending $9.50 on a mediocre movie. Speaking of which, I am so glad we didn't see the recently-rented City of Angels or Mission Impossible: 2 in the theaters. As you're aware, I adore Nicolas Cage, but his performance in City of Angels was completely laughable. About halfway into the movie, I asked M, "What's with his dopey, puppy-dog look? It's so unbecoming!" and he said, "I'm so glad you said that because I was wondering the same thing myself. I wasn't going to say anything because I didn't want to offend you. I know how much you love Nick."

And the ending was just plain bad.

Mission Impossible: 2 was the worst movie I've seen in a long time. The plot was ridiculous (it was more of a love - or should I say lust? - story than a adventure thriller). Hell, even the cinematography was ridiculous. There were these random, funky slo-mo clips that didn't make any sense whatsoever - like when Tom Cruise is walking through a hallway behind some fire. I wondered aloud to M, "I wonder if they inserted random slow-motion parts to stretch out the length of the movie..." because, honestly, that's exactly what appeared to be happening.

Mission Impossible: 2 started of on a bad foot and just kept getting worse.

Anyway, to get back to my point....

Basically, the only films we justify seeing in theaters are Star Wars or other special-effect movies or independent films that we don't want to wait for to come out on video. I'd heard Hedwig and the Angry Inch, an independent film, was good so I called 777-film to see where it was playing. We arrived at the theater and were delighted to see that the theater always shows double features. Bonus!

Hedwig and the Angry Inch was fabulous! It was about a transvestite lead-singer of a band and all the trials and tribulations he'd dealt with in his (her?) life... and about his constant journey in self-exploration. It was a comedy but with sad undertones. We both loved it.

The double feature movie was called Together, which we'd never heard of. We figured we'd stay and watch the beginning of it to determine if we wanted to sit through the whole thing. Turns out it was a Swedish movie with sub-titles, set in 1975. It was fabulous, as well! It started out sad and weird and ended happy and very feel-good-y.

I highly recommend both movies.

In other news, I couldn't load Photoshop 6.0 onto my computer because the disk says I need Windows NT or something stupid like that. What can I say? I got the pirated CD (shhh... don't tell anyone) free from my advanced Photoshop instructor. Maybe he assumed I had NT...?

In any events, I was very sad to learn that I couldn't use my free upgrade. Especially because I can't redesign my diary easily now; I have to resort to grueling html programming, which is a pain in my neck.

I did, however, format some pictures to use on my redesigned site. The redesign will be very basic because I don't want to fiddle around too much with html. I hope I get to attempt the redesign today; it's been very difficult maintaining a connection with my internet provider because my phone line is being all weird and static-y.

Wish me luck.

I need to go to the grocer, too. I really don't want to go out into the wet environs, but I need cream, eggs, and vegetables. If I get motivated, I may cook meatloaf stuffed bellpeppers tonight for dinner.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24