Loriville Gazette
2004-05-21 He's here!

Isaac Richardson Meyer arrived on May 9, 2004 (Mother's Day!) @ 8:47 am. He was 6 lbs 11 oz and 19.5" long.

Within minutes of being born:

Isaac dozing with his pops:

Mother nature is kind. After a hard pregnancy, I had a surprisingly easy delivery. My water broke but since contractions weren't progressing, I was induced. Four hours later, Isaac was in my arms. I did it naturally. I think the medical staff thought I was nuts when I told them I didn't want an epidural. My doula told me later than only 1 in 10 births is natural. I find that quite shocking.

All is well. This "sleep in 2 hour increments" is tough, though. My life has totally changed. Now it takes me an entire day to compose one email! And I can't make phone calls! Breastfeeding requires two hands... and Isaac wants to eat all the time.

Motherhood is hard but I wouldn't change anything. Isaac is an angel.

More soon.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24