Loriville Gazette
2004 Apr 27 it's about time

Today is my first day of maternity leave. Yesterday was bittersweet. After a long, frustrating day dealing with a slow computer network (making it impossible to copy all my back-up files onto CD) and swollen extremities, I ended the work day by forlornly limping out to my car with my potted plant in hand.

No big fanfare. Goodbye until February 2005, office building!

Today my feet and hands hurt, like I have arthritis. (?) I couldn't even walk or stand for the first half of the day. When I could, I made the bed, did the dishes, did a few loads of laundry, and found two available pediatricians.

The Scruff is due any day now. In fact, at my OB appt last Friday, my OB informed me that she'd love to see me give birth sometime this week. She's still concerned about the size of the Scruff... and thinks my pelvis might not accomodate a large baby. Baby's head is still down and my cervix is now soft.

I, too, hope it happens any day. I'm so incredibly uncomfortable. I'm plagued by heartburn almost constantly, it hurts to walk, I haven't been sleeping that well, and the swelling is quite alarming.

Problem is... I still have lots of errands to do before the Scruff's arrival but don't feel safe doing them by myself. After all, I really don't want to go into labor in a Walgreen's and then drive myself home!

Well, at least the house is clean. I went on a cleaning rampage last weekend after the miracle cleaning product I'd ordered, The Starfiber System, arrived in the mail. No cleaning products/chemicals needed! It cleans better than anything I've ever used... and uses only water!

Perhaps we won't be contracting with Merry Maids, after all.

Tonight, I plan on packing the hospital bag and filling out the birth plan questionnaire that the hospital sent me. So many things to do!

I'm overwhelmed. I think it's time for me to retire to the couch for a while.....

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24