Loriville Gazette
2004 Feb 17 a nightmare come true

After returning from a lovely long weekend in Bodega Bay with The Fam, I was mortified to find that the monster-sized spider who lives on the windowsill of our bedroom window has given birth to dozens of babies again.

I vacuumed up most of the last litter but I'm not sure what to do about this one. There are about 25 tiny baby spiders and one huge momma spider. The last litter only consisted of approx. 12 babies.

Do female spiders need a male spider to fertilize them? Because, if so, I want to know where the daddy spider is! I could barely fall asleep last night.

And how long do spiders live, anyway?! This spider has lived in the windowsill for at least the past year! I thought they only lived a few months so I didn't do anything about it. If I'd known this particular type of spider lived for years and breeded over and over again, I would have removed and/or killed it a long time ago!

I was trying to be nice to the spider but this is getting out of control.

Tonight, I will drag out the vacuum cleaner. The babies will die. The momma will die, too, if she doesn't scurry away in time. And then I will plug the hole in the windowsill to the outside world with a cotton ball plug.

She is not welcome in our home anymore.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24