Loriville Gazette
2003 Nov 04 our doctor's appointment today

We had another ultrasound today. We were shocked to see the little squirt squirming around inside me! S/he was waving to us, stretching out his/her arms, opening and closing his/her mouth, whole-body flexing in what appeared to be a hiccup, and basically was just swimming around inside. Witnessing all that movement was incredible! I can't feel anything yet.

We got several nice pictures. I've scanned two. The top photo shows a whole-body profile with a nice shot of that strong spine (I've been craving milk like you wouldn't believe). The bottom photo shows a front view of our tyke waving to us!

This ultrasound was part of a testing process called Integrated Screening, where they conduct a series of tests, done in two parts, that will rule out several genetic abnormalities. M and I aren't high-risk but our doctor recommends this testing to all of her patients... so we figured 'what the heck...?'

This ultrasound included a nuchal translucency test, where the doctor measures the spinal fluid in the back of the neck. This supposedly determines whether the baby may have Down's Syndrome. The good news is that this checked out okay. The doctor said Down's isn't likely and said the baby looks happy and healthy.

After our second part testing in a few weeks, we'll know the genetic results.

I also had to give another sample of blood. I almost fainted (which I have a tendency to do when giving blood) because the nurse couldn't get the vein to "get moving" again after she switched vials. I sat there for 5 minutes while she dug around in my arm to get the blood flowing again. I would have been fine had it not taken so long. Instead, she had to break out the cranberry juice and the ice packs for my forehead and back of my neck while I put my head between my knees.

Well, it's now past my bedtime (9:30). I've been hitting the sack around 9 every night because I'm downright exhausted by the end of the day. Growing a human is hard work!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24