Loriville Gazette
2003 Jul 17 vacation beckons

Where has the time gone? Things here have been crazy busy. I've been working against the clock to meet a deadline on the 31st.

Then, a mere 3 days later, M and I are jetting off to the southwestern desert. We will fly into Las Vegas, drive a rental car through the southern Utah national parks, and arrive in Salt Lake City for a family reunion.

Highlights will include:

1) Seeing the magnificent Cirque du Soleil show "O"

2) Hopefully seeing Mik and his new darling daughter in Las Vegas

3) Mountain biking in Moab

4) Hiking in Arches, Bryce Canyon, Canyonlands, and/or Zion

5) Spending evenings by a swimming pool and/or hot tub

6) Spelunking in Timpanogos Caves

7) Seeing the spectacular Mormon Tabernacle Choir

8) Hopefully seeing Sabra in Salt Lake City

I need this vacation so bad I can barely stand it. It will be the only vacation we're taking for the rest of the year, sadly enough. We've decided, due to my recent health woes and M's unemployment status, we won't be taking an annual grandiose fall vacation. I'm heartbroken about it. We were even considering Greece or Spain, for pete's sake!

M bought a work truck last night so he can haul lumber to and fro during the remodel/addition. It's a practical base-model 1990 Toyota pickup with a utility rack and unusually low mileage. I drove the pickup home because I fear the super-sensitive power steering in M's car. The pickup doesn't have power steering... and with a long vehicle like a pickup, it's a problem. My arms got a pretty good workout last night!

I went to see an acupuncturist last Saturday. The appointment went really well. He postulated that I've had a weak adrenal system my entire life (based upon my symptoms and medical history). The acupuncture treatment itself was pretty wacky. I layed (lied?) there for about 45 minutes with over a dozen needles sticking out of my body, attempting to relax despite the electrical sensations swirling through my body.

Two of the points bled after he removed the needles. And one point ached really badly for the rest of the day.

The acupuncturist also prescribed Siberian ginseng (a tonic for the immune system) to take twice/day and told me to discontinue all cardio for a while. There goes my kickboxing! But he did say it's okay to continue on with my yoga and pilates, thank goodness.

I have another appointment this Saturday. I need more Siberian ginseng already.

Tomorrow is my day off; yahoooo! I will celebrate by getting this mop cut and a pretty pedicure. Since I am traveling to hot hot hot Sacramento this weekend, sandals will be necessary.

Nothing more to see here. Go back into your houses.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24