Loriville Gazette
2003 Jun 29 plants and reproductive nuisances

Not long ago, I purchased a book called Taking Charge of Your Fertility: The Definitive Guide to Natural Birth Control, Pregnancy Achievement, and Reproductive Health by Toni Weschler. This book is fascinating! Being that I'd been on birth control pills for the past fifteen years, I really have no idea how my body works. It's kind of sad and pathetic that they don't teach this stuff in elementary school/junior high school sex ed class. There'd be a lot less accidental pregnancies if women knew how to read their cycles. And I wouldn't have had to be on birth control for the past fifteen years.

So anyway, I freaked out yesterday and started crying while doing research on the Metrogel drug I'm taking. It says that it is NOT to be used during the first trimester of pregnancy. People, I haven't had my period since May 27th!

The thing is... I could have sworn I ovulated (according to the book I'm reading) around June 10th. That would have meant that I'm currently in my third week of pregnancy if I were pregnant.

I was so shaken up that I bought an early detection home pregnancy test. You cannot imagine how relieved I was when it came back negative. Phew!

I'm currently realizing that I really may not have ovulated three weeks ago because of this darn infection. Infections can make it nearly impossible to read your fertility.

Also, the book I'm reading says that I may have exhibited signs of ovulation when I really wasn't, mainly because my "cervical crypts" (I swear I'm not joking!) could be damaged due to the birth control pills and could take a while to start functioning properly once again.

Seriously, this book is fascinating. Everyone woman should read it!

M and I went to the nursery yesterday and went hog wild purchasing plants. For the planter boxes in the front yard we bought two variegated Abelias, two blue marguerites, and a Canterbury heather. For the deck in the back yard we bought a small pomegranate tree, a marigold, and fountain grass. We also bought a huge bag of redwood bark mulch.

I spent several hours today hacking out the old plants from the front planters, removing all the weeds, and planting the new plants. I wasn't very impressed with the final result until I mulched the beds. It's amazing how a mere layer of mulch can transform a straggly-looking planting bed into one that looks finished and professional.

I'm quite pleased with my hard work. Unfortunately my back now aches due to slouching over the planters. I'm currently fantasizing about a long hot bath that will ease the sore muscles and wash off the grime.

Hmmm. That sounds so appealing that I think I'll go do that now!

Goodnight!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24