Loriville Gazette
2003 May 19 bladder pain, no more bcp, and legal action

I was home from work today with a bladder infection. Phooey! I'd been fighting it since Saturday, it seemed to get a little better Sunday, and then reared its ugly head again today.

I counted down the minutes on the clock until the doctor's office opened so I could call and make a same-day appointment. Fortunately, they were able to squeeze me in for a morning appointment. Afterward, I got the prescriptions filled, took my first dose, then passed out on my bed for 3 hours.

Pain is exhausting.

I never even got around to taking a shower today. Gross!

Less than two weeks until I'm completely off medications. (!) I've been on birth control pills since age 17. Certain "problems" have recently made me realize that it's probably time to go off them. Like my incessant spotting and my night sweats. So here I am on my last pack of pills.

To be honest, I'm afraid to go off them. I initially started them to regulate my erratic menstrual cycle and clear up my acne. Later, preventing pregnancy was crucial.

So now I'm wondering if my body is going to go haywire. Will my acne come raging back? Will my cycles be hopelessly erratic once again? Will I constantly be in fear of pregnancy?

You can't drink wine while pregnant, you know....

I'm worried going off them will wreak havoc on my body chemistry just in time for the exam on June 11. Maybe this wasn't such a good idea. But it's too damn late now because my annual exam isn't until June 6 and I'll have run out of pills before then. They won't refill my scrip until they know I am a perfect smiling picture of health.

So it's confirmed. I'm weaning myself off birth control pills in approx. two weeks. Wish me luck.

Thanks to Colz for reminding me that we need to see a financial planner, too. We've been meaning to do that and just keep forgetting.

I think the most critical thing for us right now, though, is to draft up wills with an attorney. I told M I'd check out the attorneys on my legal plan and make an appointment. I'd better do some research right now while I'm thinking about it.

And hopefully I'll be able to get to bed sometime soon, too. Sheesh.

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24