Loriville Gazette
2003 Mar 15 what I did today and yesterday

Thank heavens the monster-long week ended and I had yesterday off. I think I would have gone crazy if I had to work yesterday.

I spent my day off knee-deep in appointments. My first appointment was the dentist. Oh, how I hate going to the dentist! Feeling a small metal pick on the back of my teeth near the gumline makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up on end.

As he was chiseling the calculus off my teeth, I came to the incredible discovery that I can fool the pain if I think to myself, "Yeah, there you go! Get it! Scrape it off!" instead of my usual, "Ouch. Ow. Ow!" Along with that tactic, I tried to completely clear my mind and think zen thoughts.

It worked! My experience wasn't as terrible as it usually is.

From there, I practically ran over to the Department of Parking & Traffic and get a temporary parking permit (new license plates STILL have not come!) because I had another appointment at 2:00.

I even had enough time to stop at Burgermeister beforehand for a dreamy bleu cheese burger. Yum!

My last appointment was with the optometrist. Since I hadn't had my eyes checked since LASIK over two-and-a-half years ago, I was pleasantly surprised to find that my eyesight is still 20/20.

So with the insurance money I'd usually spend on new frames, I bought a pair of Persol brand polarized sunglasses. Very nice!

But the doc also dilated my pupils so he could check my retina and optic nerve (which is, and always has been, unusually enlarged due to some freakish genetics). Oh, boy! That wasn't very fun. On top of not being able to focus on anything, I got strangely air head-ish. I giggled and paused in giving the doctor's receptionist my new address and telephone number... because I temporarily couldn't remember it. (!)

Upon arriving home, I noticed a cylindrical shaped package sitting on the front stoop. I could have sworn it was addressed to me (remember, I temporarily couldn't focus on anything) and I also could have sworn it said it was from Proflowers. I waited to open it, just to be sure it was actually for me.

We also got a thank you card from M's brother and wife for the cute baby carrier sling we bought them. I couldn't read that, either. There I was, holding it arms-length away from my face, hoping it would help. It didn't. Then I broke out into laughter. (!... and ?)

About an hour later, I could see well enough to decipher that the package was, indeed, for me. And it was from Proflowers. Flowers? For me? Why? And from whom?

I opened it to find two beautiful stalks of totally gorgeous dendrobium orchids with decorative beargrass. From: Reflect.com, thanking me for my recent order.

Now that's what I call customer service!

M and I had grand plans to go out to a movie, but a storm blew in and we opted to order in Indian food instead and watch one of our Netflix. Problem is... after dinner, I fell asleep on the couch and didn't wake up until 1 am. Humph!

A potential buyer came to look at Beautiful Beast this morning. I'm not sure if he's going to purchase it. Mine was one of seven he was going to look at today. Strange considering when I was in the market to buy one, there was only one for sale in the bay area... and I bought it.

Apparently, it's a buyer's market. This does not bode well for me.

Today turned out being a brilliantly beautiful day, which is odd considering how just last night it was extremely windy and rainy. After I finished showing my car, M and decided to take a drive over to Pacifica. We had a seafood lunch at a restaurant overlooking the dramatic surf. Then we walked around and sat on the beach in the sun.

Now we're going to get pizza and will settle in to watch Empire of the Sun (courtesy of Netflix).

Tomorrow: study group. Yes, you heard right. After taking a year off, I'm finally resuming the hellish, traumatic experience of sitting for the licensure exam in June. I also signed up for an extremely expensive 2-day prep course. I just decided last week that I am only going to sit for one section of the remaining two I have left to pass.

So every Sunday beginning tomorrow, I will be spending 4 hours agonizing over problem solutions. Wish me luck!

back & forth
recently...

quick recap - 2007 July 13
Happy August! - 2006 Aug 01
I dream of Albuquerque - 2006 Jul 08
mindstorm - 2006 Jun 30
Pomegranate scale - 2006 Jun 24